h1

Package Puragory

September 6, 2005

I stole the phrase from Paige. “What do you call that period of time between the email you get from the vendor saying your purchase was shipped and the time the shipping company actually acknowledges your tracking number?” I’d asked. “Package no-man’s land?”

“Package purgatory,” she corrected.

And so it is. Why does this happen? No. I’m sure there’s a perfectly rational explanation, but I don’t really care. All I want is for my tracking number to actually work. Like on the same day that I receive it. No explanation is going to assuage the feelings of misgiving I experience when my newly received UPS tracking number yields only: “UPS could not locate the shipment details for your request. Please verify your information and try again later.”

Help! My stuff is in package purgatory!

No comments yet

  1. I hate that. Especially when you’re shipping something expensive. I shipped a $200 antique radio and the shipping information didn’t show up for about a week. Needless to say, I was a bit peeved.


  2. Hey, at least you can afford to GET packages. All I get in the mail is bills. 🙂


  3. Ha! Good call. It was a new wireless router. But it took less time to deliver than it took for it the tracking code to be acknowledged. That just seems wrong.


  4. You get bills?! I can’t even afford to get bills!

    🙂

    Amazon seems to be the worst offender of the mail-order places. Always seems to be mail-order. When I deliver directly to a UPS drop-off for example, it shows up immediatly.

    Glad to know it has a name. (Shades of Wizards of Earthsea, here).


  5. Oooh, I hate that as well! Package tracking is so obsessive for me that I would rather them just wait and send me the number once it’s in the system!


  6. I hate it when I order from Amazon and actually pay for shipping (vs. getting it slow and free), and then they send it via the US Postal Service and there’s no tracking number at all.


  7. You get bills?! I can’t even afford to get bills!

    “You know, I don’t really like paying bills, so I’m just not going to do that anymore.” — Peter Gibbons



Leave a Reply

