h1

Vegetarian Q&A

September 10, 2005

I’ve been a vegetarian for a month now, for those who haven’t been paying attention. Here’s a few questions and answers to help you understand the situation.

Q: Has it been hard?
A: Not really! At first I wondered what I’d eat, but after a few days I got into the no-meat groove.

Q: Where are you getting your protein?
A: From food. Beans, eggs, cheese, milk, grains… You meaties are probably getting too much protein and a lot of saturated animal fat, besides.

Q: Don’t you have to combine certain foods in order to get “complete” proteins?
A: No.

Q: But I heard-
A: No.

Q: Think you’ll give up eggs and dairy?
A: I don’t think so. Being a vegan doesn’t really appeal to me, though I try not to rely on eggs and dairy too much in place of the meat I’m not eating.

Q: So are you some kind of PETA hippie freak now?
A: Hell no.

Q: Why are you doing this?
A: Because I think it’s healthier for me. Vegetarians have less heart disease, cancer and a variety of other health problems. And also because I hear vegetarianism is better for the environment.

Q: Don’t you sometimes just want a cheeseburger?
A: Sometimes, yes.

Q: So are you going to do this forever, or what?
A: I don’t know. I feel good and I’m loosing weight besides, so I think I’ll continue for a while yet.

Q: It’s been a month. How does it feel?
A: Mixed. In some ways I don’t feel any different, but in other ways I do. I remarked the other day, “even the spit in my mouth feels different!” but mostly I just feel lighter.

Q: So what did you have for dinner, veggie-man?
A: This, if you want to know. Served over jasmine rice. Mmm.

No comments yet

  1. If you are eating animal products, you are not really being a vegitarian…there is a term for what you are doing…can’t think of it right now…but that is why you are able to get protein.


  2. Yes I am a vegetarian – an “ovo-lacto vegetarian.” People who don’t eat eggs and dairy are called “vegans.”


  3. Amusing aside: over Labor Day weekend Carol and I visited her mom, who recently moved into a retirement community…run by 7th Day Adventists (who are non-meat eaters). Since she is not in managed care she has the option (as opposed to the requirement) of eating in the cafeteria. Over the weekend I noticed the menu had cashew loaf on it…several thoughts came to mind…does cashew loaf have the same glaze as meat loaf? does one put ketchup on cashew loaf? most importantly, what wine does one serve with cashew loaf? I doubt a shiraz would go well, in fact, does one serve white or red? Picking a beer would be easier I think: either a kolsch ale, bock lager, or an IPA I think. I would go IPA to give some zip

    Anyway, wine/beer pairings and a vegetarian diet…there’s a challenge!


  4. One should not put ketchup on any kind of loaf.


  5. good *-loaf? yes….but some *-loafs i have had needed ketchup…badly!


  6. I, too, have considered going vegetarian. Can you recommend a good resource book?


  7. Resource book? Not really. I’m a beginner, too. But I have recently enjoyed Vegetarian Cooking For Dummies.


  8. I’m not allowed to go vegetarian my mum (a nurse) says that the diet change will be bad for my health



Leave a Reply

