h1

Site Slow At Home

October 1, 2005

One more nerdy thing. For some reason my web site is super slow when viewed from inside my own network. It’s so slow in fact that I have to go to work to upload pictures to my server here at home! I just can’t figure it out. I’m running a brand new Netgear MR814v2 cable/DSL wireless router and forwarding ports 80 and 22 to my web server. Netgear suggested I change the WAN MTU value but that didn’t help one bit. If anyone has any other ideas just shout ’em out. Net godhood awaits the smart guy or gal who figures this one out for me.

No comments yet

  1. Well, I’d need more details about your network to be sure, but I’d try editing /etc/hosts to redirect scottfeldstein.net to your server’s internal ip. Basically, if you’re server is 192.168.1.5, do: echo “192.168.1.5 scottfeldstein.net” >> /etc/hosts


  2. Well that did seem to help. I did

    sudo nano /etc/hosts

    and added

    192.168.0.3 scottfeldstein.net

    But I guess I’ll have to change it back when I leave the house. This is a laptop after all. Maybe there’s a semi-convenient way to toggle it…



Leave a Reply

