h1

They Want Their Money Back

October 18, 2005

I got an email today from the woman who hosted the poker game I have attended twice. It was an invite to the next game. It read: “I WANT MY MONEY BACK!”

So maybe I’m not so bad at this poker thing.

Her email was addressed to all the attendees, though, and it’s likely that she was addressing them as much as me. The first game I attended I did pretty good: after a $20 buy-in and four hours of poker I walked away with over $31. Last time my take wasn’t quite so high: $26 and change. Still, I you can’t deny that I’m winning.

When I told my kids that gambling is a tax on the stupid I mostly meant slot machines and the lottery – total games of chance. Games with pronounced elements of skill are a different matter, at least when played responsibly for small stakes. Me, I don’t even like cards that much, but the people playing the game are awfully nice. Any excuse to hang out with them for a few hours on a Saturday night works for me.

Especially when you get paid to do it! πŸ™‚

No comments yet

  1. HEY! Beginner’s luck is bound to rub off sometime! Look out when it does!! Overall all, I still believe I’m up more than I’m down in poker — mostly thanks to Dennis’ bluffing ability — or lack there of. Sorry Dennis. Truth sucks sometimes, I know.

    As for the gambling is a tax on the stupid comment, I suppose I shouldn’t mention that Mr. Mellem and myself just booked a trip to Vegas in Dec! πŸ™‚ I’m hoping for another royal flush on the video poker machines.

    See you at the next game Mr. BOUNDTOLOSEYOURASS???


  2. Um… they might be letting you think you are “good” to get you to feel confident so they can TOTALLY HOSE YOU the next time… good luck!!! (and don’t drink too much)


  3. We shall see who loses what! At this point, though, you guys could take me for everything and I’d still only be down less than $4 πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

