h1

Car Accident

October 22, 2005

So I was on my way to go grocery shopping, driving West on Summit Avenue, when this guy in a white Pontiac pulled out in front of me at Sylvan Terrace. I tried to stop but there wasn’t enough time. I basically plowed right into and past him, clipping his driver’s-side front end with my passenger-side front end.

I pulled over and got out to see if he was okay. He got out and extended his hand, which I shook. We assured each other that we had no injuries between us and then we inspected our respective vehicles. My Pathfinder looked bad. The left half of my front end had been shortened by about a foot. The lights were smashed, the hood arced upward, the fender was crumpled against the tire. A thick stream of bright green anti-freeze drained ominously into the street from somewhere under the smoking bumper. His car looked no better.

The other driver was very nice about the whole thing. He told me he had good insurance and even said that it had been entirely his fault. So we talked to a cop for a while. Tow trucks were called. I watched silently as my Pathfinder was winched up onto the wrecker, then I walked a mile home.

What’s going to happen now? I’m not really sure. My insurance says I have a rental car reserved – for Monday. The rental will give them enough time to determine what they will give me for the damage. After my deductable. I think the ol’ Pathfinder will probably be totalled. It is a 95, after all. And it has 119k miles on it. I shudder to think what they’ll give me for it. How will I buy another car for that? Who knows.

And how will I get to the grocery store?

No comments yet

  1. Eeech. That sucks. Sorry to hear that.

    Glad everyone’s OK. I got into a minor accident several years ago — $3,000 in damage to my 7-year-old, lots-of-things-not-working Neon (I was the middle car in a chain). And the insurance co. paid to fix it, when, really, it should have been a total loss. Three months later, I got rid of it for the princely sum of $1,200.

    Good luck.


  2. Glad you’re doing well, if out a car for a bit. I’ll bet someone in the drinking liberally club will give you a ride to the grocery store.


  3. Chris came by in his ninjamobile and took me to the Pick-N-Save.


  4. Sorry to hear about the accident. Glad you are well. Sorry your car is not. Major drag. If you can’t find a ride to the grocery store, I’ll mail you some syrup and mac & cheese from Canada.


  5. Wow man. As if you don’t have enough to deal with already. If you are ever in a pinch for a ride, call me. My heart is with ya.


  6. Really sorry to hear about your accident, but glad you are ok.


  7. Phooey! After your repair last week, that’s just adding (a big) insult to injury!


  8. That really, really sucks.

    Hope things get better for ya!


  9. Environmental boy drives a Pathfinder.
    LOLOL

    I love it.
    Is it a hybrid?
    LOLOLOLMAO

    As soon as I stop laughing, I’ll wish you well.
    LOLOL


  10. OMG, that sucks! 😮 At least the other person was sane…


  11. At the very least, you don’t have to wash your car for a while since this rental isn’t yours. If anything, you should be thankful. jk…sad to hear you have to deal with this hassle.



Leave a Reply

