h1

Service Engine Soon

October 31, 2005

So I bought a car. I had planned on doing a blog entry about how my new(ish) Saturn rose phoenix-like and triumphant from the smoking ashes of the ruined Pathfinder. It was gonna be great. You’d have laughed. You’d have cried. You’d have had your faith in humanity restored. It would have been fun for the whole family and it would have Touched Your Heart. Unfortunately, I am not writing that entry. You see, after skillfully negotiating a fair price for the car I went to drive it the 25 miles home. Then at about mile 20 the Service Engine Soon light came on.

I do not care why the light came on. I do not want to know what’s wrong. I am returning the car tomorrow. After nine days of stress, fretting, research, shopping and worry all I want is something that will get me to work reliably for a couple of years. I do not want Service Engine Soon at mile 20. Fuck that. In Wisconsin I have 72 hours to return it for a refund, minus any “restocking fee” they may want to charge. Back it goes.

So I’m going to try to hit up another dealer tomorrow over lunch. See if I can strike a deal on one of the cars there that I like. Then immediately after work I will take this Car of Doom back to Mordor and cast it into the fiery chasm from whence it came. Wish me luck.

Note to the universe: can I please just have one fucking break here? Can I have one small thing go my way now? One teeny weeny corner of my life that is free from disaster and chaos? A car would be nice. Just a car. One whose Service Engine Soon light doesn’t come on for a good long time.

/self-pity

No comments yet

  1. When it rains it pours. Hang in there…luck should turn any second now!


  2. That sucks. Sorry things suck. It could be worse, though. It could have blown up on ya and you wouldn’t be posting at all!

    Don’tcha hate it when people minimalize your pain?

    OK. Really. I hope you find one thing tonight that makes you smile.

    Hugs!


  3. Man-oh-man, you are in the grips of some bad joss. Ride it out, my friend, as best you can.


  4. I was in Morocco two weeks ago. They were cleaning out the sewers and putting all the shit into piles for someone else to clean up. A few feet away, women were separating vegetables on the ground and cats were eating old fish next to them. Every morning, they walk a few blocks to get enough water for the day, and carry it back to their homes. And if they want to bake something, they have to wait in line at a public stove. They shower, at best, once a week. There is no such thing as health care.

    And I can guarantee, they would all swap spots with a man who has a 9-5 job, benefits, and a car with a service light!

    …Just trying to keep it in the big picture….


  5. Yes, that’s true. I can at least thank my luck that I’m not living in a Moroccan slum 🙂


  6. Slum? That’s the high class neighborhood! (j/k)

    I was going to say “welcome to the club of the peristent check engine light” — I think some cars, past a certain amount of mileage, just do that. The pick-up has had that light going for nearly 13,000 miles (although, to be fair, it only recently came on once briefly, and then stopped).

    Lots of stuff can cause that in newer cars, anything from needing new precious bodily fluids to an overhaul to, get this, even a new gas tank cap! (bad seal, causing loss of pressure).

    Anyway, I am glad you are doing (did) the right thing — get your money back within the 72 hours and get another car!


  7. You should check to see if your gascap is loose. That’s a common reason for it. No biggie…


  8. woops. I didn’t realize how old your post was. hehee. I hope you found a reliable car.



Leave a Reply

