h1

Torture ‘guidance’ from VP

November 20, 2005

CNN.com – Powell aide: Torture ‘guidance’ from VP – Nov 20, 2005

I really haven’t said much about this whole Bush administration policy of torture thing, but it’s getting to the point now where I think I need an explanation. I need to know what the fuck is going on. If only the vice president would return my calls! In lieu of him, are there good patriotic Republicans who want to take a stab at explaining this all to me?

No comments yet

  1. It’s torture enough listening to G-Dubya speak. This information doesn’t surprise me one bit. They have absolutely no respect for civility.


  2. I imagine the standard republican thought process will either be to ignore it until it goes away (ahem, both parties do this) or something along the lines of:

    the constitution does not apply to them, they are not US citizens (common retort: ah, but the Geneva Convention does).
    They torture our people and never signed the Geneva Convention (common retort: err, 2 wrongs do not make a right, 4 wrongs squared divided by a minor wrong is a right, but not 2!).
    You’re a terrorist! Remember 9/11!

    My thoughts on this whole thing have been consistent. We do not belong over there, we should not become a police state over terrorism, and yes, we *should* go in and get bin Laden…and try him…in a court.


  3. I don’t need to know what group signed which convention treaty or any of that other legal bullshit. My own approach on the matter is pretty simple: the good guys don’t torture people. We’re the good guys, right? I thought we were. I’m pretty sure we are. Therefore, we should not be doing this.


  4. Psssst….Scott….Sant Claus, the Eater Bunny, and the Great Pumpkin do not exist.

    We could go through the annals of time, and the wicked truth is that the “good guys” are only “good” because they won and got to write the history books.

    Ask the folks who lived in 1940’s & 1950’s Hiroshima and Nagasaki how good we are.

    Ask the North Koreans and Vietnamese detained for questioning how good we are.

    Ask the citizens of the most despotic regimes over the past 60 years (that, yes, both Republicans and Democrats supported), including the current residents of Iraq, how good we are because “we stopped communism by supporting dictators that disregarded their civil liberties.”

    We won — we wrote the history books — Dubbya is failing the “Nixon Litmus Test”…

    He’s getting caught.


  5. I won’t dodge that I may be naive. But if so I’m a naive good guy. I can live with that.


  6. I don’t disagree with the fact that we’ve done some less than good things in our past, but ultimately I agree with you Scott on the fact that if we are trying to hold everyone else up to some standards and be the worldwide example of democracy this torture stuff is pretty bullshit.



Leave a Reply

