h1

Number Seven and Climbing

November 26, 2005

Tower Records, Sam Goody and Borders Inc. That’s who Apple beat. Their online iTunes music store sold more music than those traditional music stores between the months of July and September. And analysts (how do you get one of these jobs? I want one!) predict that Apple will overtake even more competitors by the end of the year. As it stands right now Apple is the number seven music store behind the likes of Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Target and Amazon.com.

So. For people who said nobody would pay if they didn’t get a physical CD in their hands? Ha! For people who said nobody would pay for what they could ostensibly get for free off Napster? Double ha! You guys just don’t get it! (We won’t discuss the small matter of a certain blogger who opined that Apple would never ever make a video iPod.) Several questions still remain, however. First of all, now that we have a successful new way to distribute and buy music, is it Good or Evil? And second, will Apple maintain their stranglehold on the online music biz? Time will tell.

And while we’re pondering the answers to those questions, I have $20 worth of iTunes credit burning a digital hole in my digital pocket and I don’t know what to buy. What are you listening to these days?

No comments yet

  1. I just bought some Dead Can Dance. I think you’d dig that, actually.


  2. Intriguing! It’s on my “maybe” list now!


  3. Dude, that new John Mayer Trio album, Try!, is fantastic. I bought it on Tuesday before I came home and it’s been playing in my iTunes/iPod/cd player all week. There is a song called ‘Gravity’ that eerily sounds like Stevie Ray Vaughn. Basically my point is that this is the type of music John should have always and was always meant to be playing. It’s traditional blues with a mix of John Mayer funk.


  4. Most of my stuff lately has been from the ever-growing collection of free music from Opsound.org. Some’s good, some’s great. Very little is neither. Check it out.


  5. I won’t buy any Apple store music because of their lousy DRM. I don’t want to be told what devices I can play my legally purchased music on! I even remember reading where someone created an iPhoto slideshow with a soundtrack of music purchased from Apple but then when he tried to distribute the slideshow to his friends, they couldn’t play it. Thanks but no thanks. I also still really dig album art, and I pore over liner notes, lyrics, cast and crew listings, etc. I’ll keep buying CDs.


  6. I feel your pain, Karen. But there’s literally no way that the big labels are going to let their goods be sold digitally without some level of DRM, and Apple’s is the most palatable one on offer. And besides, if you haven’t yet bought CDs with even more noxious DRM on them you soon will.


  7. Scott-
    Check out the soundtrack the movie Unfaithful by Jan A.P. Kaczmarek. Decent movie, great soundtrack.


  8. Dude, Rob Dougan all the way.


  9. What’s great is that things only look like they’re getting better (i.e. more closely integrated) for Apple. Have you seen the new “Front Row” app for making your Mac into a media center? It looks insanely cool — takes what “Windows Media Center” does and condenses it into a 6 button remote! And it’s got all the Apple gloss and glam. Seriously, why can’t Microsoft make something half as cool?


  10. One is tempted to say that it’s because they have no taste, Chris. But I think the real reason is that their business model involves serving the interests of corporate IT shops rather than the people sitting in front of the machine at home. “Cool” is less than meaningless to the corporate world, unless it be the latest buzzword employed by the marketing department.



Leave a Reply

