h1

Overwhelming Reads

December 9, 2005

A confession: sometimes when I get my hands on the right book it just overwhelms me. Sometimes books can absolutely thrill me by beautifully saying things that I agree with very strongly and have been struggling to articulate adequately. When that happens, reading these books makes me feel like I’m going to explode. I often slam them shut and have to resist the urge to shout out loud, such is my delight and agitation. Sometimes I even have to stop reading because I find that my brain is going to fast: simultaneously reading the author’s words, indulging in a daydream related to them, and maybe carrying on an imaginary dialog with someone about the themes being discussed. At that point I have to slow down and catch my breath before continuing. Examples of such books include Small Pieces Loosely Joined by David Weinberger and The War Against Boys by Christina Hoff Sommers.

I think I have a new one for the list. The End Faith: Religion, Terror and the Future of Reason by Sam Harris. Just thirty or so pages in, I can tell this one’s going to have me going “that’s what I’ve been trying to say!” all the way through. Perhaps I’ll write a few lines of proper review once I have finished it, but I can already just tell it’s going to be a one of those books.

No comments yet

  1. ‘The End Faith: Religion, Terror and the Future of Reason’ by Sam Harris.

    Thats the guy who sang ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ on the show ‘StarSearch’ right?

    Somewhere over a religious nuts head Bluebirds fly.
    Where is the America we dreamed of once in a lulaby.
    Some day we’ll look up to the stars and see the Neo-cons launch to Mars after the’ve opened a swiss bank account there.
    They’ll need teraforming and robots to grow crops, on Mars the corn’s taller than chimney tops. Because the gravity is LOW there.

    Look how high Barney can jump on mars, heh heh heh (shoulders bouncing in unison with his halfwit chuckle) I’m King of the new world heh heh heh. On Mars I can go 40MPH on a pogo stick, just remember not in the house (pointing to bandaged head). Bringing about Armagedon was haaaaard wooork, heh heh heh.



Leave a Reply

