h1

Give Me The Good Stuff

December 16, 2005

I’m as frugal as the next person, I guess, but there’s some things I just won’t cheap out on: I like to buy Alterra coffee; when I want salsa for my chips I get a jar of Desert Pepper Trading Company’s Corn, Black Bean & Roasted Red Pepper; when I need orange juice I reach for Tropicana; and when it comes to fruit I definitely can’t go for a bag of cheap apples.

I like my apples to have a little flavor. That rules out some of the most common varieties right off the bat. What do I prefer? Braeburn is a good one and the store always has them. They’re sweet, firm and slightly spicy. I also like Pink Ladies, which taste a little like large crisp strawberries when they’re at their best. If you’ve been eating Red Delicious out of habit you should really try these. My son even reported to me that he has friends who request apples when they visit – apparently their own parents aren’t quite as discerning in the fruit aisle.

So I’m not just a coffee snob, I’m an apple snob, too. Don’t get me wrong, though – I’m trailer trash in dozens of other respects, but in these areas I just have to have the good stuff. What about you? Are there things you just have to splurge on because you can’t tolerate the cheap stuff?

No comments yet

  1. I used to work in a Grocery Store, and never knew that there was soooo many apples…but I learned very quickly the difference…My favorite is Pink Ladies, though Honey Crisp come in a close second. I also found that I enjoy Washington Ranier Bing Cherries (the big yellow and red ones), much better than just plain bing cherries. I also luv grilled cheese and tomato soup, but it has to be Kraft cheese, and Campbells tomato. Actually most soup needs to be name brand…others are just icky. Milk does not really matter, and it is much cheaper to buy the off brand. Heck a Gallon of milk, is more than a gallon of gas…Go Figure.


  2. I also like Honeycrisp apples – good call. And you’re right, milk can be store-brand for sure.


  3. I just ordered a couple things of Corn, Black Bean & Roasted Red Pepper salsa based on your praise, so you better hope you know your salsa! I’ll let you know what I think when its here.


  4. I get my milk (delivered!) in glass bottles — I think it tastes better. You should definitely try to get milk from cows that haven’t been treated with hormones.


  5. Justin, you won’t be disappointed. And it’s not just me! I got turned on to it because it was the winner in a “salsa showdown” article over at Slate many moons ago. There’s no better salsa – except the homemade variety using Karen’s recipe!

    Karen, it’s funny you should mention that. There IS a brand of milk just as you describe in my store, glass and all. Paige and I even lingered over them a couple of weeks ago, but in the end neither of us really like milk all that much. We don’t actually drink it. It’s for cereal mostly, so we cheaped out yet again. But perhaps I’ll give it a try.


  6. I’m a toilet paper snob (Cottonelle Ultra), a mac&Cheese snob (Kraft Deluxe Sharp Cheddar), a raisin bran and instant oatmeal snob (Kroger), and an apple snob (Fuji).


  7. Hmm. I can go with store-brand oatmeal sometimes. I don’t hate Fugi apples, though! Good call.


  8. I definately don’t cheap out on Cheese, the Spagettios (yes, I still eat them) and frozen pizza. Anything else it doesn’t matter.. The WalMart brand will do (yeah… I shop at WalMart… It’s cheaper than the Kroger owned Hilander)

    -A


  9. Oh yeah… I should not be allowed to know that I can order Alterra coffee online.

    -A


  10. Thought you might find this interesting..
    http://www.baristaguildofamerica.org/



Leave a Reply

