h1

Waukesha Public Library

January 19, 2006

Waukesha Public Library

Originally uploaded by scottfeldstein.

The Waukesha Public Library has been newly remodeled and I don’t like it. It’s nice from the outside, as you can see. But that big, circular, glass-enclosed space? The one I had heard was going to be a “cafe”? It’s got some art and a couple of benches and a couple of vending machines in it. It’s a lobby. I expected more. I had a vision of fresh brewed coffee, espresso even. I saw people reading and talking. I saw free WiFi. I saw the library as a new kind of community destination. But all that’s there is a lobby that, in spite of the business of the library during my visit, nobody was utilizing.

No comments yet

  1. I like the new layout! Of your website, that is, not the Waukesha library, which I haven’t seen. The library looks slick from the outside, with the faux-modern look that’s retro enough to make it cool instead of run-of-the-mill.


  2. Thumbs down from me on the new addition too. There’s a terrible echo and it’s just a bunch of wasted space that could be better used as you described (never mind the wasted potential revenue a cafe would bring). Between that and the new bus terminal that no one will use, complete with shops that no one will patronize, I’m starting to think the city has a little too much money on its hands. Meanwhile, the public schools are cutting programs. God I love Bushinomics.


  3. Waukesha County has been republican run for a long time, in fact it seems like they always run unopposed. I write in people I know, I think I wrote Scott in for county administrator or treasurer or something in 04.
    I guess his opponent must have got at least two votes.
    Damn it!

    It was a beautiful library even before the addition and revamp.



Leave a Reply

