h1

Fasting and Batman Begin

January 27, 2006

I had some fruit this morning. I will not be eating again until Sunday. Tonight and Saturday night I will sleep at the dojang. I have been given permission to take pictures during the seminar and I understand that the Brookfield school has WiFi, but I do not know if I will get any opportunity to blog about the event while it is taking place. I could always snap a picture with my camera and send it to Flickr and here. I’ll see what I can do.

In other martial arts news I saw Batman Begins. It was good but not great. I really liked Scarecrow and I wanted him to have more screen time. I couldn’t quite accept Liam Neeson as a ninja, though. Could they not get an Asian man to play this role? Besides, how many villains does this movie need? It suffered from villain diffusion. Anyway, I dimly recall that in the original DC comics Batman learned to fight by studying Judo, not Ninjutsu. A little googling says Batman held black belts in Karate, Judo, Jujitsu, and Aikido. Now you’re prepared for when that trivia question comes!

No comments yet

  1. I personally think every movie should have Liam Neeson in it but that’s just me.


  2. Or Ralph Fiennes. I’ll take either one. šŸ™‚


  3. I don’t know why, but this layout is unnerving. Plain, even. Guess it will put your context to the test, hey? šŸ™‚

    Oh, and tag, you’re it!


  4. According to the present continuity when it comes to martial arts, Batman is a jack of all trade, (proficient in all master of none) It was also stated in the official Batman guide that he studied 123 martial arts under different sensei, sifu ,guru and instructors. In the movie adaptation (novel) it is stated that Bruce knew almost nothing about hand to hand combat, he began learning on cargo ships by interval of 5 minutes between his choars, The crew taught him some martial art stance and how to fight dirty. Later on he received about 6 months of brutal and intensive hand to hand combat training form Ducard and his ninjas. With his street fighting experience and his ninjutsu training he created his own fighting style and/or method. In the first Batman comic 1939 by Bob Kane it is Boxing and jujitsu. Never heard he was a black belt he’s way better. Hope that helped a bit. šŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

