h1

e-Learning Trivia Question

February 10, 2006

I stop at Caribou almost every morning to get a cup of coffee for my commute. They, like many other similar establishments, have a new trivia question up on the chalkboard every day. If you answer the question correctly you get ten cents off of your purchase. I often guess and I’m often right. It’s not for the dime; it’s for the glory.

But on Tuesday of this week there was a question that really stopped me in my tracks:

“What Big 10 school enrolled over 3,300 students pursuing degrees online in 2001?”

This is exactly the kind of thing that I should know. Who else that comes in here would know this? But the truth is, I had no clue. My options: I could either guess and suffer the almost-certain humiliation that a person employed in higher ed e-learning got it wrong, I could slink away without hazarding a guess, or I could simply admit my ignorance and ask them the answer. I chose the last option.

The answer? The University of Wisconsin Madison. Double humiliation! Not only did I not know the answer, but the school is in my own back yard. I haven’t been caught this clueless since thefacebook.com.

Tags: , ,

No comments yet

  1. I’ve been thinking about doing grad school there. Hmm.



Leave a Reply

