h1

Break-A-Thon Music

February 12, 2006

Next Saturday is the annual J. K. Lee Black Belt Academy Board-Break-A-Thon at Mayfair Mall. Many students will be present, including myself. People pledge a buck or two for every board and then we break them with our hands and feet. All proceeds go to fund children’s cancer research.

But that’s not all! There will also be special demonstrations from both the children’s and adult’s Demo Teams. I have recently joined the adult team and I think our demonstration should be pretty exciting. There will weapons demonstrations as well as self-defense scenarios. These latter are sure to be crowd pleasers. It works like this. We pair up one man to one woman. Then each pair gets a turn. The man attacks the woman several times. She retaliates in the most gasp-worthy of ways, leaving you to wonder if maybe she wasn’t too hard on the poor attacker. The women on our team are pretty merciless. I bet it’s a lot more fun to watch than it is to be the target of their wrath!

I’m trying to select some high-energy music suitable for martial arts demonstrations. So far all I’ve come up with is Spybreak! by Propellerheads and Weapons of Mass Distortion by The Crystal Method. I need suggestions!

I will post more details about the times of the demonstrations in the next few days.

Tags: ,

No comments yet

  1. Sure, I’ve got a couple of suggestions:

    Metallica: both “Battery” and “Fuel” off the S&M album.
    System of a Down: most of their stuff is pretty high-energy.
    White Zombie: More Human than Human
    Monster Magnet: Space Lord
    Rage Against the Machine: Renegades of Funk, Testify, Guerilla Radio

    I’ll see if I can’t find the others, and I’ll ask the Girl to send you the rest of the list


  2. Thanks!



Leave a Reply

