h1

Zelda Turns 20

February 25, 2006

I haven’t spent a lot of time playing video games lately, but I have in the past. And I think I could still get sucked in if I had the right game in front of me. Nintendo’s Legend of Zelda games have always been just those kind of games. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the series.

I have played several of the Zelda games. Two that I remember with particular fondness are and A Link To The Past for SNES and Ocarina of Time for the N64. In fact, I maintain that Ocarina is the best video game I have ever played, on any hardware at any time. (A close runner up is Blizzard’s Warcraft II.)

For those not familiar with the franchise, the Zelda games usually follow the same story: a princess named Zelda and the kingdom of Hyrule are in danger from an evil sorcerer named Ganon. A young hero named Link (you) must go on a lengthy adventure to save the day. The games are known for their enormous environments, myriad choices, fascinating sub-plots and addictive mini-games within the larger game. One supposes, however, that it isn’t any of these things which make Zelda the best game of all time; it is surely the care and genius with which each of them is created. The craftsmanship is palpable throughout, and ost credit Shigeru Miyamoto of Nintendo for this magic ingredient.

So taken have I been with the Zelda games that I have often thought of utilizing the likeness of Link, the hero, in the design of my blog. As you can see, I have refrained – but only just.

Although I have to admit that I never quite finished the last Zelda game, The Wind Waker, I am currently drooling at the prospect of playing the upcoming Zelda game, Twilight Princess.

Happy 20th to Zelda, Link and the rest of the Legend of Zelda characters.

Tags: , ,

No comments yet

  1. I had the honor of sitting in on a roundtable Q&A with Mr. Miyamoto and the rest of Zelda: Twilight Princess’ key staff at E3 last year. It was held in a movie theater and while they spoke a Nintendo employee was playing the game on the big screen.

    The game looked already looked amazing… and now another 9 months have gone by since I saw it. And the game is probably still an additional 6 months or so away. I’m almost fearful for what Nintendo will have accomplished with Twilight Princess by the time its finally released.


  2. I’m not that into viddie games. I just get lost in the 3D worlds in most of them these days, which does nothing but make me mad. I loved SNES’s Link to the Past game though, but I still stink FF3 for SNES and Chrono Trigger for SNES were better.


  3. I’m all over Twilight Princess when it comes out. Especially since I don’t need to buy new hardware for this one.

    Never played FF. I think I have one for Playstation around here somewhere…



Leave a Reply

