h1

Blog Summit

March 6, 2006

I just registered to attend the inaugural WisPolitics/WisOpinion Blog Summit on Saturday, March 18 from 1 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. at the Country Springs Hotel in Waukesha. My fellow Wisconsin bloggers are hereby encouraged to join me.

I’m looking forward to it, but I do have some misgivings. I would like for blogs to be better understood by the general population. The media tends to get the significance of blogs all wrong. Sometimes they represent it as (“bad” or “new”) journalism. And sometimes that’s what it is. But often it’s not. The other thing they get wrong is that they interpret the success of a blog by its readership. Naturally this makes actors, politicians and professional journalists the most successful bloggers and the rest of us just wannabes. It’s as if those celebrity blogs are the quintessential ones while the millions of ordinary ones are unimportant. This is backwards. Of course a blog needs to have readers, but it’s success need not be in direct proportion to it’s popularity. (You can’t blame people for thinking this way, however. It is, after all, the way television and print work.)

What does this have to do with the conference? I just want blogging to be understood as a big global conversation. It’s about everything we mutually care about. No matter how far away we are from each other, we can coalesce around all the different subjects we care about. From vegetarian recipes to political movements. I don’t want to see blogging pigeonholed as being about one thing and the conference seems to be heavily political. Blogging is not always about politics, nor are political blogs necessarily the most important or definitive ones.

Now that I’m done whining, I’m ready to meet some of the political bloggers in the area. It should be fun!

Tags: , ,

No comments yet

  1. […] Linking to people is a tough business. On the one hand I want to link to people who write things I like and who think like I do. Linking is a form of advocacy, or so I’ve been known to say. On the other hand, linking to people you frequently debate and discuss with seems like the collegial thing to do, even if you disagree with them most of the time. It’s a dilemma. For the longest time I’ve only been linking to people with whom I agree a lot – liberals. But now, in a newfound spirit of reciprocity (and in a shameless effort to suck up before I run into some of these guys at the WisPolitics Blog Summit coming up on Saturday), I present you with a short list of crazy, nutball, conservative wackos long-neglected right-wing colleagues: […]



Leave a Reply

