h1

Charlie Sykes and Bogus Blogging

April 16, 2006

I know I mentioned it before but it bears repeating: there is something very wrong with treating media professionals who run “blogs” without comments as the quintessential bloggers while the rest of us are considered unimportant also-rans. Yeah, I’m looking especially at Charlie “Godfather of Wisconsin Blogging” Sykes. What we have here is a well-paid media professional of traditional radio and television fame who writes a blog which allows no comments, no trackbacks, and it seems does not engage in anything like “conversation” with the rest of the blogosphere whatsoever. In fact Sykes’ blog is a lot like the publishing of a newspaper column sans paper. It’s a one-way street. He writes, you read. Got something to say back to him? I don’t think he’s any more interested in it than the producers of television news and major newspapers are. Less so, even. At least newspapers have letters to the editor.

A blog is a web site containing a chronologically ordered series of short articles or “posts,” sure. But I think it’s more than that. It’s an engagement in the global exchange of ideas; it’s a discussion, a conversation, a give and take; it’s using the F-word; it’s imperfect spelling; it’s speaking truth to power.

Sykes cannot be relied upon to speak truth to power. In a very real sense, he is power.

People like him may get 100 times more traffic than the rest of us. But I’d take a hundred lesser-known citizen bloggers over one Sykes any day. If I wanted a professional media personality to tell me what to think without listening to me in response, I’d turn on my television.

Ten bucks says Charlie never reads this.

Tags: , ,

No comments yet

  1. Why do you hate America? Criticizing a right wing pundit who fully supports the president, is the same as attacking our president during a time of war. You should be ashamed of yourself. I will spoon-feed the conserviatives and weak minded alike, anything I damn well please. Comments? Who needs comments?


  2. Very funny, Paul. 🙂

    Incidentally, $10 says he doesn’t read it; $20 says he doesn’t respond.


  3. Here’s what I’m unclear on: do I get $10 for reading this and another $20 for responding; or is it just a total of $20?

    Charlie


  4. I’ll go broke giving out $20 to every commenter who signs “Charlie Sykes.” I’d gladly settle up with the man himself, but how am I to know who’s who?

    And in any case, the reading of and responding to this post isn’t the real issue, though a bet’s a bet. The real issue is engaging others in the blogosphere via comments and trackbacks – mainly on one’s own blog.


  5. Great post!

    I should add that I had to refrain from signing this as Charlie.


  6. One thing I forgot to mention today (you’d think in four hours I would have remembered): Sykes is a prisoner of the same JournalCorp blogging software all the other JSOnline bloggers have to use. It doesn’t allow trackbacks and comments.

    But don’t think for a second that if Sykes walked in one morning and said, “Give me comments,” he wouldn’t have comments by afternoon drivetime.


  7. I’ll take cash or a check.
    If you don’t believe it’s me, write me at sykes@620wtmj.com… and I’ll confirm it.
    And, no, I don’t think we’ll be changing our policy.


  8. I’ve never been too impressed with Charlie Sykes either. He’s an average blogger… but fame has its benefits, and traffic is one of them. Most people simply kiss up to him in hope of securing a link on his blog.


  9. I actually think Charlie is a pretty strong blogger.

    He’s a good writer, opinionated, and funny.

    I don’t think “celebrity” bloggers deserve points for being famous, but I don’t think they should be penalized for it either.

    (I do wish they had an RSS feed, though. And, as I’ve stated many times, I wish all bloggers allowed comments.)


  10. […] Search Home  |   About Me  |   100 Things  |   Resume  |   Colophon  |   Disclosures  |   Photos  |   « Charlie Sykes and Bogus Blogging […]


  11. LAME!! Anyone who chooses not to take comments or criticism has little respect from me.


  12. […] Charlie Sykes and Bogus Blogging […]



Leave a Reply

