h1

Ad Report

April 30, 2006

A while back I started putting ads on scottfeldstein.net, not knowing exactly what would happen or if I’d keep them around or not. Shortly thereafter I wrote about how spotty the ad revenue seemed to be and decided to get rid of them. Just at that time, however, Darren over at problogger.net decided to use me as an example – a bad example. In other words, he had a few suggestions for me on the placement and type of my ads. So naturally I implemented some of his advice. How did it work out? It’s been a month and here’s where things stand.

I made over $14 in April (about $0.47 a day), for 60 ad clicks (about 2 per day).

Okay, so I’m not getting rich off these ads. But here’s my thinking. If I keep the ads up I’ll be getting a $100 check from Google some time in October, and that’s better than a sharp stick in the eye. And that doesn’t figure for growth, either. After all, traffic to this humble blog has grown and grown over the last four years. I’m not counting any chickens before they hatch, but suffice it to say that if the trend continues I may be seeing that $100 check sooner than October. Plus Darren may come up with some more good optimization advice for me!

PS. I didn’t want to mention the ads again because I fear that when I do it results in a flurry of clicks that cloud my picture of what my “normal” ad revenue is, but I said I’d report back so I did.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

