h1

Wii Like Nintendo

May 22, 2006

New developments in the game console wars. Sony appears to have stumbled badly. Their upcoming Playstation 3 is rumored to cost between $500 and $600 when it finally goes on sale. I also hear that there may not exactly be a plethora of terrific games to accompany its release. Microsoft seems to have followed Sony down the path of bigger-better-faster-more because their new Xbox unit is going to cost $400. Who is going to buy these things I’d like to know? When you factor in a couple of $60 games, that’s a ton of cash! I’m sorry, I don’t care how cool they are. It’s too much. Sales will suffer.

But wait! Remember Nintendo? Rumor has it their new console – the oddly named Wii – will cost between $200 and $250. But is it cool? It’s cool. At the recent Electronic Entertainment Expo, they stole the show with their innovative new controller that looks like a TV remote control and can track your movements like a sword hilt.

All of which is good news to me, as I’m a Nintendo guy from way back and had no plans to switch any time soon. But the point when I realized Nintendo really was in a good position this time around came when I saw the results of a recent Slashdot poll entitled Your E306 Console War Pick:

No word yet on pricing for the CowboyNealBox3.

No comments yet

  1. I’m going to stick with the PS, even though it’s unlikely I’ll invest in the PS3 for a while. Nintendo has never had the games I’ve liked, and I deal enough with Microsoft for work that I don’t want to make it a part of my gaming experience.

    Either way, whichever platform is the first to offer a pill that I swallow that puts me into a temporary coma where I experience the best gaming ever will win my dollars.



Leave a Reply

