h1

Definitely Me

June 7, 2006

The false alarm (see previous post) with regard to discovering my birth parents led to some interesting new resources. I’ll spare you the details and get right to the point: a wonderful researcher named Judy has helped me discovered their last names! Birth mother’s last name was apparently Pinkston and birth father’s last name was – get this- Scott.

Now if only we had an additional data point with which to narrow the search. If I knew what state birth mother was born in, for example, that could really nail the whole thing down. She was probably born in 52, but there were four baby Pinkston girls born in California that year, and tons more nation-wide. To complicate matters further, that last name may not be the one she was born with. Her father (my bio-maternal-grandfather) was killed in the Korean war and her mother remarried. So perhaps it’s her step-father’s name and not the one she was given at birth.

This all gets very complicated, as you can see. Still, this is a remarkable step forward.

You know what’s interesting? A couple of years ago I got my hands on a long, long list of baby boys born in the same time and place I was. I managed to pick out a few that I thought were likely candidates. Pinkston was one of them. I know because after I got the news today I did a search of my hard drive for “Pinkston” and found my notes on the subject. It was one of only two names in a file called “probably_me.txt” dated March of 2004.

Anyway, now it’s confirmed.

No comments yet

  1. I am very excited for you. I think this is great news. Good luck, may the information keep coming.


  2. W O W


  3. Man, I hope you find them. “Keep the faith”, as they say.


  4. […] Definitely Me […]


  5. […] I have not written about adoption in some time. In fact, I have not thought much about it in months. I wrote about discovering the last names of both my birth mother and my birth father last June. Then there was the information I got out of the adoption agency about their histories back in September. But since then, nothing. […]



Leave a Reply

