h1

Hear Me Now

July 13, 2006

Why do you build me up (build me up) Buttercup, baby
Just to let me down (let me down) and mess me around
And then worst of all (worst of all) you never call, baby
The Foundations

My sexy phone is history. It was pretty, but it just didn’t deliver. The reception was so bad I could hardly make a call on it! I got between zero and one bar of reception in my apartment. Mostly it was zero. Although I learned you can still make calls at zero bars, I also learned that those calls are frequently dropped. My “can you hear me now” was frequently met with silence.

Let me be clear: I have had Verizon for years and I’ve had many Motorola phones. Never before have I even looked at how my reception was at home or at work. It just wasn’t an issue unless I was in the middle of the woods or at the bottom of an elevator shaft. And it usually worked there, too. No, it was not the Verizon network. It was the phone itself.

The folks at the Verizon store saw it my way and traded me for a new phone this afternoon. Meet the LG-VX8300. Not quite as flashy as the Razr, but just as feature-rich. And, best of all, you can hear me now.

No comments yet

  1. Ahh…something sexy that didn’t deliver. How many times have I uttered those words! heh heh

    Hopefully this one will work out better for you.


  2. I switched to Verizon about 1.5 yrs ago. I’m happy with them. I tried an LG for the 1st phone. Poor sound quality, and, no signal at my step-Mom’s. Switched to a Moto 710. Great sound quality, bluetooth, and, signal at step-Mom’s!


  3. it’s all voodoo to me. One man’s excellent phone is another man’s useless brick. I’ve had Motorola’s that were great, but that Razr… hardly any service at home or at work. But in odd places it would get plenty of reception. I just couldn’t figure it out. But since it’s my only phone, I had to unload it. I’m just glad they took it back!


  4. T-Mobile for the win. I thought everyone knew this?


  5. I’ve had Verizon now for just a bit over a year… It’s OK. I have a Palm Treo 650. It sucks. I’m thinking that as soon as I am done with my contract I might head over to T-Mobile and get me a sidekick.

    Of course, this is all way better than the Motorola I had with Cingular. Biggest POS in the world.

    -A



Leave a Reply

