h1

Philip K. Dick Through A Film Darkly

July 16, 2006



Me through a scanner, darkly

Originally uploaded by scottfeldstein.

I just saw A Scanner Darkly starring Keanu Reeves, Robert Downey Jr. and Woody Harrelson. I [heart] Philip K. Dick even more than I [heart] good sci fi movies, so I do recommend viewing it. I have to say, though, that this was no Blade Runner. I like my movies like my folk songs: lots of emotional peaks and valleys. None of those guarded, sanded over numbers for me, and A Scanner Darkly seemed a little dramatically muted.

If none of that makes any sense to you don’t worry. Here is a more concise review: go see it, you’ll dig it.

There was a lot of drug use and reality-questioning in the movie, which reminded me of… this neat article I read recently.

I know, I know. You want to know about rotoscoping, the computer processing technique that the filmmakers used to make the movie look, well, drawn instead of filmed. Did I like it? Yep. Was it the star of the show? Not really. Not for me anyway.

Also, Philip K. Dick was brilliant, but also kind of a crazy!

No comments yet

  1. I agree on bot Dick and Bladerunner. I have the directors cut, but, haven’t been able to find the version with the narrative. I really liked that one..



Leave a Reply

