h1

Embryonic Stem Cell Pledge

August 21, 2006

“Because of my strong opposition to embryonic-stem-cell research, I hereby pledge that should I, at any point in the future, develop diabetes, cancer, spinal-cord injuries or Parkinson’s, among other diseases, I will refuse any and all treatments derived from such research, at home or abroad, even if it costs me my life. Signed, ______.”

(Courtesy of Jonathan Alter at Newsweek, hat tip to Xoff the link.)

So. Which of the opponents of stem-cell research wants to sign first? Feel free to use the comments area to do so.

No comments yet

  1. Well, I’m against tax dollars going for Embryonic stem cell reasearch. I wouldn’t put a ban on it, just no tax dollars. As to Adult Stem Cell, no problem with it getting tax dollars. So, in that regard, I’d sign it.


  2. Well it does say “embryonic.” So you’re against funding it. And I guess you’re pledging to forgo any medical advancements that are derived from such research.


  3. Scott,
    Where was the religious right during the Manhattan Project? Or,
    is it theologically acceptable to melt full grown humans while protecting blastocytes in petri dishes? Obviously, I refuse to
    sign!


  4. No, Scott. I’m not against funding it, I’m against FEDERAL TAXPAYER $$ funding it. Of course, this may be a moot point now, with this possible discovery. I’m sure you’ve heard, as you’re up on these things.

    BB, I wasn’t alive during the Manhattan project. However, that was during a War of epic proportions. That is one that also requires serious soul searching.


  5. Billiam: Are you against federal funding because you think doing the research is immoral or are you against federal funding because someone else might think the research is immoral?

    Either way, I figure federal money goes all the time to things not everyone agrees with. I notice federal funding of animal research hasn’t stopped just because of PETA. They are free to vote and otherwise conduct themselves according to their consciences, but if we refrained from funding anything that anyone felt was against their beliefs, we’d fund nothing at all.


  6. I’ll be happy to sign it. This is something I’ve thought about for a long time, and I have no interest in prolonging my own life at the expense of another life, especially a human embryo. I value life completely, but when it ends it ends. None of us can live forever anyway.

    No hesitation at all. (SIGNATURE HERE) dated and even notarized.


  7. By the way, I feel the same way about transplants. Having working in hospitals for over 30 years I have seen the cruelty of asking a relative of a recently deceased person who is still warm, about harvesting organs. Then a hot-shot doc from San Francisco shows up with a cooler filled with dry ice, harvest the organs from a “cadaver” and high tails it out of there while the relatives are still in shock from the death, especially if the death was a young person. I’ve seen the pressure they undergo while in that state of shock.

    Such cruelty is uncalled for, no matter whose life it saves. I certainly would not want mine saved under circumstances like that and will instead accept whatever fate bestows on me.

    And no, I do not have a special sticker on my driver’s license that anyone can harvest my organs. Thank you very much, I’d rather keep them and take them with me. If that’s cruel, TOUGH. I think the scenario above is much more cruel.


  8. Note to my own family: suck it up and do what’s right. If a doctor ever comes to you and tells you I’m dead and wants to take my kidneys or my heart or whatever so that someone’s five-year-old can continue living, I insist that you say yes. I don’t have that sticker on my driver’s license for nothing. But I know you understand this. You know my values. You know helping people in need is important.


  9. I too am against the federal funding of empryonic stem cell research – but I am an organ donor (and my wife knows/supports it)

    Will you sign my pledge??

    “Because of my strong opposition to drug companies making a profit and funding research and development, I hereby pledge that should I, at any point in the future, develop diabetes, cancer, spinal-cord injuries or Parkinson’s, among other diseases, or even a headache, I will refuse any and all treatments derived from such research, at home or abroad, even if it costs me my life. Signed, ______.”


  10. Because of my strong opposition to drug companies making a profit and funding research and development…

    Well, you lost me right there at the beginning, Clint. I have no such opposition to those things.



Leave a Reply

