h1

Surprise!

August 25, 2006

It appears my recent attempts at political reasonableness have failed to inspire reciprocity.

No comments yet

  1. Sorry Scott but some of the comments that you made over on Fred’s site inspired the post. You don’t comment over by me anymore so I wanted to get your attention.


  2. ::shrug:: looks nothing like you.


  3. Why publicize/link your readers to an idiot like Clint?


  4. Call me names Lonestar – that is all you got.


  5. Let’s all take a step back for a second. I do in fact write comments over at Fred’s Real Debate Wisconsin blog quite a bit and things do get heated over there. Even in these very reputable pages I have occasionally called Fred and also Peter “wackjobs” and the like. So it behooves no one get too carried away with their indignation at being called a name or two, least of all me.

    Clint is a well-known blogger in southesatern Wisconsin circles (what we affectionately refer to as the cheddarsphere). We mix it up regularly, he and I. Still, I thought the monkey picture – in direct response to my post of the other day – is a pretty shocking contrast, and not something I would have done.

    Anyway. I stand by what I wrote in this post and I’m still ready to take on all comers who want to challenge my views in a spirit of vigorous and respectful partisanship. That is, after all, the aim of this post. Clint is as welcome as anyone to respond.


  6. I still think you look more like William Fichtner. Clint was way off with the monkey.


  7. Scott – and his readers – I guess that I need to explain the post since you all don’t get it.

    See No Evil, Hear No Evil, and Speak No Evil, relates to the general attitude of Scott (and others on the Left) when it comes to a) Islam and it’s teachings, profiecies and teachings and b)economics and capitalism and c) MSM Media Bias

    The truth has been explained to Scott (and other passionate Liberals) many times, yet they still don’t want to get it.

    Let’s try another metaphor (sp?)

    Let’s say Scott wants to wash his car tomorrow. He goes to his Yahoo! Homepage to look up the weather. The weather report says that it is going to storm tomorrow. Scott, determined to wash his car, then goes to weather.com to look up the forcast. That one says the same thing – it’s going to rain buckets tomorrow. Still determined to wash his car and wanting to soooo bad he starts asking around for the weather forcast.

    REALLY REALLY wanting to be able to wash and wax his car, he finally runs into a friend of a friend whose ex-roomate’s daughter’s boyfriend went to high school with Paul Joseph’s (local Meterologist) grandson. This person looks up at the sky – sees the dark clouds and lightning – looks Scott right in the eye and says to him – “Nope, no chance of rain tomorrow. Go ahead and bust out the Turtle Wax”


  8. PART 2 – sorry too big of a response to get in one comment

    ….

    So the next morning after hearing one person proclaim that it isn’t going to rain, Scott washes and waxes his car. He then gets upset when it starts to rain and curses out GWB for not doing anything about global warming.

    Scott (and liberals like him) has a view of humans that isn’t reality. He wants to believe that everyone wants peace and wants to get along with everyone else (except conservatives). He wants to believet that everyone on Welfare is only there because they can’t find a job and not because they are too lazy. He wants to believe that if the taxpayers spent $30k/year per student on education that they would all be successful and rich. While they are great dreams – they are not reality. He doesn’t see or hear the evil in front of him

    To give Scott credit – the comments Scott make are usually calm and well thought out – he just doesn’t want to believe that all of the dark clouds and lightning signify rain.


  9. Clint, your comments indicate to me that you don’t understand my positions on much of anything.

    1. I have never, ever suggested that Islamic terrorism isn’t a big threat. The fact that I want the Constitution adhered to as we fight it is not proof that I “don’t understand” the threat it poses; it just means I value the Constitution more than I fear jihadists. How about you? And I have never put forth the kind of rosy picture of human nature you claim. I have never suggested that everyone on earth just wants to get along. I know full well that’s not true and I don’t know where you’re getting that from. Next you’ll be saying I want to negotiate with al Qaeda.

    2. I understand and embrace capitalism. I just happen to think that while market forces are indeed the sole engine of economic activity, they are also amoral forces which do not care in the slightest about what is just and good for the citizens of our country. That is why market forces must be made to operate within a lose set of constraints – regulations – that will at least guarantee some values are in place in our economic system. In English that means: market forces alone don’t make children’s toys safe, nor do they make drugs effective, nor do they make food healthy to eat, nor do they put nutritional labels on packages, nor do they put seat belts on cars, nor do they keep children from working in factories, nor do they guarantee safe workplaces, nor do they ensure overtime pay, nor do they allow for sick leave, etc., etc., etc,. You may think that those things would occur without regulation, but that’s a fantasy. They didn’t occur before regulation because supply and demand do not compel businesses to provide them.

    Poor people are poor usually for a whole host of complex reasons. To hear you righties talk, it boils down to one thing for you: laziness and lack of personal responsibility. That’s wrong. And even if it were right, it’s unhelpful. Letting people sink into abject poverty would cost us more than providing a safety net for them – no matter how they became poor in the first place. And besides, I’m not against the kind of welfare reforms enacted under president Clinton. I’m not as far-left as you indicate.

    And I don’t recall when I’ve said too little money gets spent on education. The problems with education that I see are a) the disparity of funding across communities b) the dizzying array of societal problems that walk in the door every morning in poorer communities , and c) the fact that you righties seemingly want to do away with the entire notion of publicly funded education.

    Finally, I really don’t think you want to mix it up with me about who has the best grip on reality and who is caught up in a fantasy world of ideology. The right in America today is frightening in it’s ability to deny reality, and our president is undoubtedly the worst among you.


  10. Sorry – my response is too long – I have to chop it again

    Scott – is there someone using your name and web address over @ B&S or on Fred’s site?

    While I agree that Pres Bush isn’t the Pres that I was hoping for (he moved to the left of center). Expanded Medicare and federal funding in Education

    I would hardly call my world fantasy.

    To hear you righties talk, it boils down to one thing for you: laziness and lack of personal responsibility. – About 90% of the time yes. All of the time – No. There are more than enough social agencies (120+) in Milwaukee County alone that provide job training/assistance that anyone who wants a job can have one.

    Poverty in Wisconsin is a choice kind of like abortion.

    Education is funded properly. You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make ’em drink it. And yes – I have read you calling for more funding.


  11. In English that means: market forces alone don’t make children’s toys safe, nor do they make drugs effective, nor do they make food healthy to eat, nor do they put nutritional labels on packages, nor do they put seat belts on cars, nor do they keep children from working in factories, nor do they guarantee safe workplaces, nor do they ensure overtime pay, nor do they allow for sick leave, etc., etc., etc,. You may think that those things would occur without regulation, but that’s a fantasy. They didn’t occur before regulation because supply and demand do not compel businesses to provide them.

    So you are saying that if they could Merck would sell sugar pills as a cure to AIDS? Chrysler made driver’s side Airbags standard in 1988 – 7 years before law required them. I keep my child from working in a shoe factory. I made sure that I was safe when I was working in an aluminum foundry. OT pay is not something that should be regulated. It keeps people who want to from working more and harder. I get sick pay at my job. Sick pay is not regulated at all. How can I get it then – oh yeah market forces. Health Care is not by law required – yet I have it. Etc etc etc….

    And if the govt regulates everything for us, why do we need unions?? Can’t have it both ways.

    And that constitutional argument is about as faux as you can get. If you would like I can provide you the link. I don’t think that you should be reading the DU version of the Constitution.

    And yes you have been sympathetic in your response to the Radical Islamists that want to destroy everybody and everything that does not agree with them 110%. You have not been as bad as others that I have read, but you certainly want to take a wait and see approach to the war against them.

    As usually Scott – you provide an argument full of holes. Are you going to wax your car today?? Those storm clouds are going to pass over.


  12. So you are saying that if they could Merck would sell sugar pills as a cure to AIDS?

    Yes I am saying that. If not Merk, someone else. Someone would be selling something that was ineffective or unsafe. Do you see no difference between the safety and efficacy of drugs now and drugs on the market before the FDA?

    Chrysler made driver’s side Airbags standard in 1988 – 7 years
    before law required them.

    A very responsible move (and a great marketing point, too, by the way). But it’s not a move we can expect businesses to make whenever they are necessary. Where were they with seatbelts? Fighting it every step of the way, that’s where.

    I keep my child from working in a shoe factory.

    If only parents in 1880 were as loving as you! Those irresponsible wretches! They and their filthy urchin progeny deserved what they got, I suppose.

    I made sure that I was safe when I was working in an aluminum foundry.

    The sheer naivete of your response stuns me. Do you really think all it took to bring American workplaces from Upton Sinclaire’s The Jungle to today’s safe environments was workers just taking it upon themselves to be more careful? What color is the sky in your world, Clint? Here it’s blue! 🙂

    Sick pay is not regulated at all. How can I get it then – oh yeah market forces. Health care is not by law required – yet I have it.

    Market forces, eh? I guess that would explain why not everyone has sick days and why one in six Americans have no health insurance. I rest my case, Clint. (Also – you have those things largely because of union influence in the job market.)

    that constitutional argument is about as faux as you can get.

    The discussion I really want to have is why you think the president can – and should – break the law in the name of defending the country. I don’t.

    you have been sympathetic in your response to the Radical Islamists

    Have I? What position do I hold that constitutes “sympathy” for Islamic jihadists?

    you certainly want to take a wait and see approach to the war against them.

    I don’t know what you’re talking about. I do prefer, however, that we attack the correct people when fighting Islamic terrorists – and that we do so only when it will strengthen our hand against them instead of weaken it. I would prefer to win the war against terrorism, rather than lose it in a spectacular blaze of light.


  13. Spectacular responses, Scott. I wish I could have said it as well.



Leave a Reply

