h1

Clash Of The Titans

August 26, 2006

Mr. Migrane, meet mr Extra Strength Vicodin.

I slept until 9 this morning, which is unusual. Then I got up, took a shower and then Paige and I went to Caribou to hang out and drink some coffee. By 10:15 I said to her “I think I’m going to get a headache.” By 10:30 it had hit and we had to leave. I had already decided to repurpose the pain releiver from the dentist in an experimental treatment of my headaches. At 11:10 am, I took a pill and began pacing around the apartment holding my head and waiting for it to help.

In one corner we have a class-A migrane headache. The left side of my head feels like someone’s inflating it with a bicycle tire pump. The area above my left eye is aches persistently. Even bringing my teeth together hurts. In the worst cases, I cannot work or focus on any task. It can literally last all day.

In the other corner we have Vicodin ES. (The “ES” seems to stand for “Extra Knock-you-on-your-ass.”) It’s 7.5 mg of hydrocodone and 750 mg of acetaminophen. (7.5 mg may not seem like a lot, but this narcotic comes in doses ranging from 2 to 10 mg.)

We’ll see what happens. I may just take a nap and hope the headache is gone. Actually, after taking one of these pills I may have little choice in the matter. Wish me luck.

Yes, yes, I will see a doctor. I’m still waiting for my medical card though.

No comments yet

  1. Scott,
    Noticed you had a stiff neck recently and now a headache?
    Having been diagnosed with arthritic neck about a year ago, I
    get headaches which seem to be related to muscle/ligament
    stretch. I’m informed that no painkillers work very well in that
    event. But laying down for a bit does wonders. As an aside,
    lipitor or other statin-type cholesterol drugs can greatly exacerbate
    arthritic cervical spin pain. Not medical advice…just some personal observations.


  2. I feel for you as I too woke with the headache from hell. I suspect it’s weather related more than anything else since it’s eased up some with Excedrin, closing up the house and turning on the central air. Beware the rebound headaches of that vicodan, they always get me right square in the back of my neck and can be as hellacious as a migraine. Then again, I doubt they are supposed to be taken with Jack. Hope you feel better.


  3. Well, I think the Vicodin ES reduced the pain by at least 30%, which is significant and extremely welcome. By noon I had added a glass of Yellowtail Cab into the mix, hoping to get a nap out of it. No such luck. I laid down for a couple of hours but sleep would not come. (Think about that – hydrocodone and alcohol and still can’t doze off! That’s some pain!) Anyway, I’ve given up on napping and now I’m just relaxing. The pain is still not full intensity, so that’s a good thing.

    As far as my neck pain, I think that was ultimately related to a martial arts injury I suffered a couple of months ago and nearly forgot about. My headaches, on the other hand, have been around for the last couple of years. I doubt they are related.

    Thanks for the comments!


  4. wow. That’s a dedicated blogger..you can blog through your pain!
    Scott, why can’t they just call your insurance co. to verify coverage..why wait for a card?


  5. Well, until like two days ago the insurance company would have said “uh, we have no idea who you are.” That’s because the HR department was holding my policy papers until I got my divorce papers in. I have those in now, so they sent in the forms. SO. I could now call them up, I suppose. My first question will be: can you expedite my card? Second question will be, what doctors can I see?



Leave a Reply

