h1

Video Games And Learning

October 17, 2006

I listened to Marc Prensky speak at a technology conference back in July. He impressed me enough to buy his book on the spot. I even had him autograph it. One of the things he says in this book is that a tremendous amount of learning takes place during the playing of video games. I know this to be true, me being a veteran of dozens of complex, difficult and engaging video games myself.

And now, according to CNN.com, the Federation of American Scientists has now weighed in on the issue. What do they say? They’re saying we should fund research into how the captivating aspect of video games can be utilized for traditional educational purposes. I couldn’t agree more.

No comments yet

  1. ‘…captivating aspect of video games…’ hmm.. I started playing wow (world of warcraft) about 10 months ago.. last time I checked, I had logged about 39 cumulative days of total time.. um.. that’s a bit under 1000 hours in 10 months.. I’m thinking that this ‘captivating’ concept could be capitalized on… Wait.. Wow already did that.. I pay a monthly fee of $15… so do about 7 million other players… Don’t you wish you were part of the ground floor of that company? Still privately owned I think with gross profits on monthly subscriptions alone exceeding $100,000,000 and yes, you have to buy the game before you can play it.. another $30-$40 per person.. and no.. I have no intention of quitting anytime soon… can’t wait to buy the new release soon!


  2. What I’d like to point out is the large amount of highly detailed information that you have learned in order to play this game successfully. It’s a complex game! Plus there’s the social interaction. Most non-gamers have no idea how complicated these things are.


  3. My friend, Alice Robison, does research on video games and learning. Way cool. She’s at MIT now, I believe.


  4. There’s an excellent website – http://seriousgamessource.com/ – that covers all of this kind of thing. Videogames as a tool for learning, legitimate military training, etc. Lots of good stuff there.



Leave a Reply

