h1

Wanna help me move?

November 14, 2006

Does anyone have any experience with moving a WordPress blog from one box to another? I’m tired of hosting scottfeldstein.net out of my closet. I’ve earned my nerd cred. I got nothin’ to prove anymore. For what reliable hosting costs these days, I would like someone else to be responsible for that now.

So how do I move the blog?

No comments yet

  1. Talk to Ted Dargis, ted.dargis@milwaukeemicro.com. He’s good at what he does.


  2. Check around the net… IIRC there’s a few good articles on moving WP sites. I did it for a friend’s site (I’d link but she let the domain lapse because she graduated and isn’t doing the radio show anymore)

    As for hosting… Um.. I’m hosted off of a friend’s box these days. If I ever get DSL, I’m probably going to go back to “roll my own” hosting (my server is still up… though… the default page just goes to my blog… I believe that http://starodub.commanddotcom.com is hosted on it still, though)

    Why are you getting rid of the ‘host my own’ site?

    -A


  3. I’m tired of worrying that my ratty old “server” is gonna go kaput and destroy my site. And I’m tired of paying for a business-class cable connection just so I can handle the traffic. I could get by with some cheap-ass DSL if I didn’t have to worry about that server.



Leave a Reply

