h1

‘Ats-a Nice!

December 29, 2006

I have been allowed to secure music for a New Year’s Eve party. It’s the kind where everyone will dress up and drink cosmopolitans made with good vodka. The invitees will be a mix of 40- and 50-somethings from a Yiddish choir, 30-somethings from a large software company, scientists from a zoology lab, and, well, me. What music is going to go over with these folks?

I consulted the iTunes store and looked for New Year’s Eve playlists. I found some, but they were totally inapropriate and mostly had bad references to the holiday that are only amusing when you’re drunk (and perhaps not even then: Prince’s 1999, anyone?). I searched around a bit more and eventually pieced together something that I thought might work. There are probably as many ways to solve this problem as there are music lovers, but here’s how I did it.

The 4.5-hour playlist is comprised of 1 oz Swingin’ Martini Mix, a splash of early Michael Jackson and 1 oz bumpin’ classy stuff from my own collection including N’Dea Davenport, BT, Fatboy Slim, MIA and Kaskade.

I put the playlist on my iPod, plugged it into my car stereo, and drove over to the coffee shop. I knew I was onto something when I heard Rosemary Clooney’s Mambo Italiano segue into Spoon by Cibo Matto. Whoa.

This party is going to be a hit, and the music will be fabulous. But it’s not too late to make recommendations! If you have suggestions, just shout ’em out.

Leave a Reply

