h1

Ditch Your Ghetto Ass Blackberry

January 9, 2007

So the iPhone has come. Many things will be written about it in the coming weeks and months. It won’t be available until June, but now we know what it is.

Is it cool? I think it is in many ways the device I have been waiting for and more. It’s a highly usable phone with un-crippled synching and data transfer features with my computer; it plays music and video and is undoubtedly the most feature-packed iPod ever made; it gives you “the real” internet instead of a limited kiddie version, with a full browser, rich email and even google maps. And of course it’s all done with Apple fit, finish and style. In short, I want one. And so do a lot of other people.

But here’s the one remaining blockbuster question: what will the Cingular service contract cost?

I can’t wait until these details and the hands-on reviews become available in the future. I’d like to buy one of, even considering the $500 or $600 price tag. I did some checking at Verizon; they’ll be glad to sell me a Blackberry or Windows Mobile or Palm OS smartphone for between $450 and $620. So the price isn’t out of line for this kind of thing.

And speaking of those other devices, today I used a phrase that may never have been uttered before, but surely will be in the future. I was chatting with a friend of mine and I referred to her “ghetto ass Blackberry.” That certainly is what it is now that the iPhone has changed everyone’s expectations.

If you want to watch Jobs introduce the thing and walk through it’s capabilities, click here.

No comments yet

  1. “ghetto ass blackberry”….LOL!!!! I’m still laughing at that.

    Still…it beats whatever lame-o Verizon thing you have now! 🙂


  2. Well, as I mentioned on my blog, after handling all the current objections and raising what I consider the actual valid issues, to me the burning question on my mind is……

    WHEN CAN I PLAY WOW ON MY IPHONE?????

    😉



Leave a Reply

