h1

2007 48-Hour Fast

January 28, 2007

2007 hapkido seminar

I have returned from the weekend fast. (That’s me on your far right during the hapkido seminar.) I have eaten. And showered. And shaved. (Taylor’s Lemon & Lime and a Feather blade – nice.) So I feel human again. But I’m very tired now. I’m off to take a nap. Before I go, though, here’s a few random thoughts and facts about the weekend:

  • My 48-hour fast was actually 63 hours because the last meal I ate was dinner on Thursday night, not breakfast Friday morning.
  • This fast was easier than the one I did last year. It may have something to do with how restrictive my diet was the week prior.
  • Not only was there no food, but I also spent the weekend without shoes and furniture, not even a chair.
  • Hapkido is one of my favorite martial arts and grandmaster Chang is amazing. If you’re in the Naperville, Illinois area you should check out his school.
  • I have mat burns on my feet and hands (the only exposed parts of me outside my uniform) from getting thrown around so much.
  • Verbal judo is not really wicked smack-talkin’, as I suspected. It is a system of rhetoric used to defuse a conflict. As Sun Tsu wrote, “to win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the highest skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the highest skill.”
  • I took lots of photos. You can see some of them here.

To my fellow students: thank you for spending the weekend with me and sharing your knowledge, enthusiasm and skill.

No comments yet

  1. Congratulations, dear! That’s quite an accomplishment, something most people never do (me included).



Leave a Reply

