h1

More Photography Lessons

February 26, 2007

I shot over 800 pictures on Saturday, and the experience has left me wiser. The 50mm f/1.8 lens is magnificent for portraits, but I had some problems capturing some of the action sequences with it. This was simply because I could not fit enough stuff in the frame, and I could not back up any further due to the ring of people surrounding the area. In other circumstances it might have been great to catch fast action in low light, but not on Saturday. Instead I used the wide-angle 20-35mm f/2.8 lens. It’s not quite as fast, but for most of the day the natural light in the atrium allowed me to get good exposures, even at the 1/500th of a second shutter speeds necessary to freeze people in mid-air.

Here’s an example of the 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Here’s the 20-35mm f/2.8. (But here’s the same lens as the light faded into evening. Ick.)

Leave a Reply

