h1

Turnitin Sued for Copyright Infringement

March 30, 2007

Wow, has it really been three years since I wrote about how Turnitin gives me the creeps? Time flies when you’re raging against the machine, I guess. According to slashdot, some high school students in Virginia are suing the plagiarism-detection service for $900,000 in damages, claiming – as I did three years ago – that the company is using their copyrighted works for financial gain without their permission. If the consensus at slashdot is anything to go by (and it’s admittedly often not), Turnitin may be in some trouble on this one.

No comments yet

  1. Hopefully something will come out of it.

    …because I hate Turnitin. It’s crap…how can you not “copy” when the notes you get on [several] poem[s] are the same?

    — you sued three years ago?


  2. Ha! No, I didn’t sue them I just complained about them here on my blog. They were copying everything off my blog so they could compare your papers with it. I put a stop to that!



Leave a Reply

