h1

It’s okay, I’ve had all my shots!

April 20, 2007

I have been unable to register for summer or fall classes because I could not produce any immunization documentation. The fact that I have worked here on this campus for 8 years, breathing the same air as innumerable students, did not impress anyone; I still had to show documentation to register. The fact that I’m a newly appointed part-time faculty member, poised to spend hour after hour in a small enclosed space with students, didn’t impress them either; I still had to show my papers. And I don’t have them.

My doctor? Seen him exactly once. So rather than go through the hassle of either trying to get this taken care of at his doctor’s office, or (even worse) trying to track down records from half a dozen other doctors’ offices, I decided to take a different route: Student Health Services. I called them up and asked if they would make this problem go away. They said if I came in that afternoon, they’d draw my blood to check immunities, plus give me a tetanus shot – all for the low, low price of $154. So I took them up on it. Now my arm is sore. No wonder kids cry about this shit. I’d forgotten. if next week when the results come in it’s found that my immunities aren’t quite up to snuff, they’ll give me a booster shot – for a fee, of course. And in truth, I’m glad to have them do it. Going to them is hassle-free.

So anyway, now I’m good to go. Should I get startled and bite another student, the university can’t be held liable for any strange diseases that might result.

No comments yet

  1. As soon as I decided to adopt a cat, I immediately went and got a tetanus booster. 🙂


  2. Great. Now you’re going to be autistic.


  3. “Should I get startled and bite another student, the university can’t be held liable for any strange diseases that might result.”

    …hysterical


  4. WTF??? They’re located in the middle of a major metropolitan area, they don’t even make their employees get shots, and besides the pretty clear fact that you’re well into your 30’s and haven’t dropped dead from any number of diseases that would have clipped you if you hadn’t been immunized, they still required it?!?

    Gotta love bureaucratic bullshit….



Leave a Reply

