h1

Expeliarmus

August 17, 2007

I don’t remember exactly when we started reading Harry Potter books aloud together, but I’m sure it’s been at least seven years. I do recall that the first couple of books had already been published by the time we discovered them. How did we come across them? I saw a story on the news about how some religious nuts wanted them banned from their kids’ school. Naturally my first response was “we should give that a try!” So I bought Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone as a Christmas gift that year. Over the next few months we’d worked our way through the first and second books. After that, we anticipated the publishing of each new book. And we always read them aloud together: me, my two kids and my ex-wife.

Back when we started, the kids were probably no older than 7 and 9. Now they’re 14 and 17, and not only is the Harry Potter series finally finished, it’s time to recognize that our time of reading together as a family is drawing to a close, too. Heck, a year from now my oldest will likely be moving out to attend college.

And so it’s the end of an era.

Thank you, J. K. Rowling. Thanks for giving us a focal point for so many, many hours of fun and togetherness.

Leave a Reply

