h1

Maus

September 2, 2007



Maus II

Originally uploaded by scottfeldstein.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but if you only read one graphic novel in your life let it be this one: Maus by Art Spiegelman. It may not have the visual impact of a full page color image out of Frank Miller’s 300, but it has a Pulitzer-winning story about the holocaust. The kind of story that keeps you up late at night to read just one more chapter. The kind of story that makes you realize maybe this graphic novel thing has something to offer after all.

No comments yet

  1. Read it for a class @ MU and would definitely recommend!

    -A


  2. I totally agree. It fully deserved the Pulitzer. A really absorbing, insightful, emotional book.


  3. I’m intrigued Scott. Thanks for the heads up. I’ve read hundreds of books vis a vis WWII. My grandfather was shot, wounded, crippled at El Alemein. As a Scots Black Watch member and enjoined at the age of 40, and as my Grandad, I found and still find WWII, fascinating. I own at least a dozen books by or about Churchill and find him one of the most interesting men of the 19th and 20th centuries.
    I’m not much for fiction, because there is sooooooooo much fact available, but I’m going to read this book, in honor of you, and our differences philosophical. I’ll get back to you when I’m finished.


  4. Awesome! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. And by the way, it’s filed under biography, not fiction. 🙂



Leave a Reply

