h1

Photo Biz

October 17, 2007

I got another photo job today – another wedding. Last minute gig. Next Saturday. It was another colleague from work, so I gave him the fabulous deal I gave the previous person at work who hired me.

It really made me feel vindicated for spending that $550 on the new lens that I’ll be picking up tomorrow. You gotta spend money to make money. Or something like that. But how much had I spent? And how much had I made?

Turns out I’d spent quite a bit. But I was pleased to see, after crunching some numbers, that my photo gigs of the last few months had nearly paid for everything I’d spent on gear over the last two years. Another $300 and I’d be in the black. Until I buy another camera body.

And that’s what I’m going to do – as soon as I land another big wedding I’ll buy myself a new Nikon D80 or D200 or D300.

You gotta spend money to make money.

No comments yet

  1. Do you have a website for your wedding photography business?


  2. Alas, no. But I’ve been meaning to whip one up for the last couple of months. When I finally put up something fit for human consumption, I’ll surely blog about it here.

    Meanwhile, you can see some of my wedding photography work here.


  3. Wedding photography can be a lucrative business. We’re getting married in March – you should see the going rates out here!

    Do you offer a package (or choice of packages) with things like sets of prints, coffee table books, albums, DVD copy of the originals, etc? Or sell through a service like pictage.com?


  4. The way I’ve been doing it is to charge a flat fee to shoot the entire day, pick 150 or 200 out of the 800 or so I shoot for careful editing, then give them every frame I shot on CDs to do with what they like. If they want to get prints or photo books through me, I offer to do that at cost.

    I’m about to raise my rates considerably, but I will henceforth include 4×6 prints of all edited shots as part of the deal.



Leave a Reply

