h1

Isn’t Halloween Over?

October 31, 2007

Someone actually asked me that today as I walked across campus in costume. Well, no, it’s not over. It’s today. Today is Halloween. Not some other day.

Which brings me to the shocking discussion I had at lunch today with two of my friends. (Well I thought they were my friends, but that was before the aforementioned shocking discussion.) “In my city,” I said, “we have trick or treating on Halloween, and it extends into the dark of night.” They, however, felt that this was too dangerous. Where they lived, trick-or-treat was held on the weekend, regardless of when the 31st fell, and was conducted in broad daylight. It’s safer, they said. I said they were a bunch of sissies bent on sucking the joy out of a great holiday.

Anyway, I did go trick-or-treating on Halloween. In the dark. With a six-year-old and a ninja. Nobody got hurt and it was lots of fun.

Speaking of Halloween and coworkers, I can’t get this song out of my head.

No comments yet

  1. Any zombies around the office this morning? Steer clear, I hear they are fond of brains the day after Halloween.


  2. I think today is All Hallow’s Day: the day dedicated to all saints. Last night was All Hallow Evening — Hallowe’en.


  3. I think some of the folks over at B&S would say that’s not a costume.


  4. Who said I was wearing a costume? šŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

