h1

Absinthe-minded

December 9, 2007

Act One: Me at the Tijuana border. A customs guy looks at his x-ray machine and calls to me: “Sir? Is that tequila?” I reluctantly admit that it is not. Thus were my Green Fairy hopes dashed back in the summer of 2005.

Act Two: My parents make a small purchase for me while vacationing in Greece. Somehow they send it to me later in the mail. It tastes like anise, and it doesn’t make me go off the deep end, produce great works of art or literature–or kill anyone.

Act Three: The whole thing appears to be legal now. Perhaps I’ll try some of these newly available varieties. But perhaps not. Legality sort of sucks the mystery out of it and leaves you with nothing but green, licorice-flavored booze.

4 comments

  1. Dude I don’t know about absinthe, but you my friend are hilarious!


  2. Hi Scott,

    I’m the producer of a weekly public radio show about the environment and we’re interested in using this photo to illustrate our upcoming edition of the program:

    capitalism hummer

    Of course we’ll give you a photo credit and link to your Flickr photostream or any other website you’d like.

    Thank you for your consideration!
    – Aries
    Aries Keck : EarthbeatRadio.org : aries.keck@gmail.com


  3. […] Scott Feldstein gives his personal experience with trying to get abisinthe. […]


  4. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot
    of time writing, i know how to save you a
    lot of work, there is an online tool that creates readable,
    SEO friendly posts in minutes, just search in google – laranita free content



Leave a Reply

