h1

Golden Gate: Ancient Waukesha secret?

January 27, 2008

Good news: someone over at Boots and Kittens informed me that one of the nation’s top 100 Chinese restaurants is one frickin’ mile from my house.

Bad news: when I excitedly told Karen she said “oh, that place. It used to be good but the quality fell of a while back and we don’t go there anymore.”

!

Well, I’m going to try the Golden Gate restaurant anyway. How can I have lived in this town for 20 years and never eaten there? Karen’s opinion notwithstanding, I’m going to go. Soon.

No comments yet

  1. Whoa. That’s within walking distance from my condo. I don’t even think I’ve ever heard of it.

    I miss living in Oconomowoc though, I loved Fong’s food.


  2. If the quality dropped off, it must’ve been heaven before.


  3. Your review of this place will decide if I go or not. I would really love a new, very good quality, Chinese restaurant to go too… my best choice right now is Port China on Port Washington road north of bay shore mall a few miles.. I don’t get there often (its probably 40 minutes each way drive time on a good day)…
    Emperors Kitchen in Brookfield is good, but I’ve had a few so-so meals there lately and they have tons of windows and with the weather below 30, it’s always cold in there.
    Any other suggestions in the area?


  4. I have been told by someone who used to get it delivered for lunch that the food is good when you are there in person but the delivery was sometimes off.


  5. That’s probably not too unusual. Travel time takes the edge off any meal.


  6. Garlic Kitten with Mushroom! Meow!


  7. We tried them out out on Thursday and was very pleased. We had Kungpao Chicken and Chicken and Peapods. We recommend this place to all.



Leave a Reply

