h1

Do you need me?

March 12, 2008

This morning I went down to the little espresso bar in my building to get coffee, as I usually do. I was filling my cup when I noticed familiar music coming from the boom box behind the counter. As I idly tried to identify it, I overheard the two young female baristas. “I know all the words to this,” one was telling the other. Then she started to sing along.

Cuttin’ through the darkest night in my two headlights
Trying to keep it clear, but I’m losing it here to the twilight
There’s a dead end to my left, there’s a burning bush to my right
You aren’t in sight, you aren’t in sight

Do you want me, like I want you?
Or am I standing still, beneath the darkened sky?
Or am I standing still, with the scenery flying by?
Or am I standing still, out of the corner of my eye?
Was that you passing me by?

It’s called Standing Still by Jewel–back when Jewel was cool. And it’s also a song I used to play on my guitar while my little girl sang along. Well, I guess she wasn’t that little. She was 14. But I played and she sang. And when I heard a young woman of about 18 singing it, everything came back in a flood. I wanted to say something, but I couldn’t.

I think I’m going to suggest to Paige that she get a job at the espresso bar in my building.

Leave a Reply

