h1

Panthera pardus

March 12, 2008

As you might have guessed from my last post, I just upgraded my Macbook Pro to Leopard, the latest version of Mac OS X. Much has already been said about Leopard, most of it good. Here’s my two cent’s worth:

  • I was disappointed that the new Dock appearance didn’t hold when I moved it to the left side of the screen as I always do. Instead of the new Leopardy appearance or the old Tiger way, it gives me yet a third appearance. It has the white dots to indicate open applications, but the 3D shelf is gone. Oh well.
  • I’m not a huge fan of the new Cover Flow viewing option in the Finder. It’s neat, but it’s hard to imagine I’d use it a lot.
  • Speaking of Finder windows, the Leopard ones are okay. The sidebar seems more functional–especially after you remove the dead wood like iDisk and so on.
  • Stacks are really cool. I don’t know if I’ve hit upon the exact right way for me to utilize this feature, but it seems really promising. I may soon designate my Applications folder to default to List view instead of Automatic. As such, it’s an improvement performance-wise for those who were in the habit of placing Documents and Applications folders in the dock and right-clicking on them for a menu.
  • I like the idea of a Downloads folder. It’s keeping my desktop clean.
  • I’m undecided about the translucent menu bar. I’ve had it both ways and still I’m not sure if I like it or hate it.
  • iChat’s new killer feature is remote screen sharing. I love that this is here. Love, love, love.
  • Spaces is a killer feature, too. When I’m at work I now have three spaces filled: one with my work email, a work browser window and a chat with my assistant; one space with my personal email and friend’s chat; one space filled with open Terminal sessions. It’s brilliant.
  • Quick Look is neat, too. I can take a “quick look” at a document before I decide to launch it and its potentially cumbersome application. Very nice.
  • I love the new Preview. Finally I can use this handy, handy app to resize an image! That missing feature used to drive me nuts. This app is easily 50% more useful now.
  • Web Clips is also really, really cool. Basically what you can do is take any part of any web page and make a dashboard widget out of it.
Leave a Reply

