h1

Noisy dining? No thanks.

May 29, 2008

So it’s not just me! A few days ago, I heard food critic Tom Sietsema on NPR talking about increasing concern over the incredible noise level in many restaurants.

I absolutely hate the fact that four out of five restaurants that I might go to are what I would consider too loud for easy conversation–and some are absolutely absurd.

One thing I didn’t like about Sietsema’s bit on the radio, though: When asked about the cause of the noise increase in recent years, his first response is? Technology. That’s right, it’s not that restaurant dining rooms are made from all hard surfaces. It’s not that they have televisions and music above which everyone must talk. No siree! It’s them ding-dang newfangled Blackberries, iPhones and laptops!

I frickin’ wish the noise I was hearing in restaurants was laptop use. C’mon, that’s really weak.

No comments yet

  1. But to be fair, I recall that he also mentioned the current trend of designing restaurants with bare floors, high ceilings, crowded seating, etc. — all things that amplify noise in general.


  2. Yes, but the first thing out of his mouth was to blame that old demon technology.



Leave a Reply

