h1

She’s a bomb

June 12, 2008

Do you wake up with songs in your head? I mean inexplicable, I-haven’t-heard-that-in-years songs? I do all the time. Maybe I should keep a list and make a playlist out of them. Maybe it would make some kind of narrative sense.

This morning it was The Who’s Athena.

Athena, all I ever want to do is please her
My life has been so settled and she’s the reason
Just one word from her and my troubles are long gone

No comments yet

  1. Scott – FYI From Wikipedia:

    Pete Townshend wrote this song after an encounter with actress Theresa Russell. He promptly fell in love with her, and his frustration of being rejected is contained in this song. In this context, associated with an issue with a film director, it became a subplot of the much later The Lifehouse Chronicles. While the subject of the song is now widely known, Townshend initially changed the title to “Athena” to disguise who the song was really about. And indeed given the lyric and Roger Daltrey’s vocal phrasing it can fairly be interpreted in ironic context of Athena, Goddess of Wisdom, as well:

    A-THEE-na, I had no idea how much I’d NEED her
    In peaceful times I hold her close and I FEED her

    Regardless of origin and intent, the song chugs along a mid-to-uptempo beat with the musical accent repeatedly placed on the second syllable of the titular name, making for an effective musical hook underpinning internal rhymes.



Leave a Reply

