h1

Ghosts and empties

July 22, 2008

I went to Graceland and I enjoyed it. Really. I took some pictures, and there are some that I don’t hate, so that’s something, right? Right. At least now I can say I’ve been there.

But you know what? The entire thing–the house, the grounds, the shops across the street–the whole thing was just one giant monument to 1970s tastelessness. This, however, is not the kind of thing one wants to say out loud while on tour. The person next to you might be having a perfectly transcendent experience fulfilling their lifelong dream to visit the King.

But tacky and tasteless is really what it is. From the jungle room to the family plot in the back yard.

What’s so special about Elvis anyway? Maybe it was just that he was the first white guy to play it. Maybe Elvis was a talented man who rode a cultural tidal wave not entirely of his own making, a wave of pent up 1950s repression that white American youth began to break out of when they saw his swaying hips on the Ed Sullivan Show.

Note: Everything I just wrote is likely wrong, as I’m no expert on the history of rock & roll.

No comments yet

  1. I was there about 8 years ago.. I can say I have been there – and I also am not an expert on the history of Rock &Roll, etc..
    For me, that place was a total waste of time, other than seeing a house that reminded me in some ways of what I grew up in….that’s about it.



Leave a Reply

