h1

Don’t you hate it.

August 6, 2008

Don’t you hate it when people ask a question without using a question mark.

No comments yet

  1. My biggest pet peeve since moving to Wisconsin; the misuse of the words borrow and loan.
    My wisconsin friends, one borrows from (someone) and loans to (someone). One does not borrow to (someone).

    Any chance I have cleared up some confusion?

    Thanks, I feel much better now. 🙂


  2. What I really hate is when your suppose to be going to you’re friend’s house and there not ready when you get their.

    Your/you’re…there/their/they’re…it’s/its

    And one I’ve been noticing a lot lately is a problem with tense, like the example above, e.g., suppose to be instead of supposed to be.

    Sorry, caught me on morning where I was seeing a whole raft of those at work.


  3. Could it be an indication of the quality of our school systems and their output?


  4. Hard to say, Bill. That would be the easy diagnosis, and when I was a substitute teacher, I was often appalled at the dismal quality of much of the writing I saw. At the same time, I was also often amazed at the excellence of much of it. Bottom line, I didn’t spend enough time there to make any kind of substantive judgment.


  5. I think you’re onto something. But with a caveat.

    I honestly believe that 90% of the problems in American public education is directly due to poverty, single parent homes and other social problems. That is to say, the teachers don’t bring the problem in with them in the morning–the students do. Thought experiment: Take a failing school, teachers and all, and transplant it into an affluent community. Test scores would skyrocket and it’s problems would magically disappear.

    However, I suspect that at least some of the bad writing we see is evident even in the successful schools. To the extent that this is true, then yes, we have a teaching/curriculum problem on our hands.


  6. Bill, school quality might be the issue, but I doubt it. I work in a fairly technical industry, filled with many highly educated people. I see so many misuses of the written (and spoken) language that it makes me grind my teeth.

    One difference I note between myself and those that wage war against the English language is that I am quite well read in classics. That difference, I believe, was in the selection of reading material my parents subjected me to as a child. Another difference I note is that my upbringing was in the middle to upper-middle class and my “needs” were really “wants.”


  7. Jeez. Bloggin’ ain’t what it yoos to be…


  8. Here’s one I don’t get, sort of a reverse of your sentence, Scott. I don’t get it when people start a sentence with “I wonder why” and then finish it with a question mark. Are they then wondering whether they are actually wondering?


  9. omfg. i hate that.



Leave a Reply

