h1

An intensely political choice

September 8, 2008

If you’re a political junkie like myself, you probably heard the howls of outrage and indignation from conservatives when vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin’s experience was questioned. Having been governor of Alaska for a mere twenty months, people wondered if her previous position, mayor of the small town of Wasilla, Alaska, was a meaningful preparation for being vice president of the United States. Foul! cried Republicans. They accused us of being anti-small town, or elitists, or something. They suggested that we just didn’t like reg’lar folks.

Well, just in case you allowed yourself for a moment to believe that this complaint was genuine, it’s not.

As a bonus, that video clip also exposes the disingenuousness and hypocrisy of their next complaint–that we Palin opponents are sexist.

No comments yet

  1. So, you are taking a video clip of a Republican party strategist making partisan commentary (because that is what he is paid to do) and comparing THAT to journalists (who are often “mistaken” as partisan commentators) using bias in news coverage? Are you being sarcastic, or do you really see no difference between supposedly unbiased journalists and Karl Rove? You do know that Rove is not a journalist….right? I’m not sure whether to laugh at this ridiculous comparison, or to cry at the fact that you actually believe it enough to post it as proof. Sigh.

    If this is the type of “wisdom” you use to justify the situation to yourself, then I can see how you are so easily able to dismiss media bias, and delude yourself into believing it does not exist.


  2. I’m not comparing anything except Rove’s comments to one another. I’m not suggesting he’s a journalist. (The very thought nauseates me.)

    My point is simply that he’s emblematic of the Republican noise machine’s tendency to say whatever suits their cause, even if it’s blatantly contradictory. Was Rove genuinely expressing concern over the qualifications of the Democrat in the first clip? If so, was he genuinely expressing his approval of Palin’s qualifications? In which clip is he lying? And how come Republicans on TV lie like that?


  3. 1. This may surprise you, but Karl Rove does not speak for me. I speak for me, and I am sure that many other conservatives would say the same for themselves, although I won’t speak for them, either.
    2. I have stated this before, but it bears repeating: Senator Obama is not running against Governor Palin. Senator Obama is running against Senator McCain, and Senator Obama’s experience is laughable compared to Senator McCain’s.
    3. The sexism against Governor Palin, and Senator Clinton, is not imaginary, and a comedy clip won’t make that go away.


  4. Republicans are complaining that the media (journalists….people who are supposed to report the news fairly) the MEDIA is taking sides. Pointing out that talk shows that offer opinion are inconsistent is like pointing out that the spokesman for Coca-Cola thinks Coke is better than Pepsi. If Karl Rove did not support all Republicans and denigrate all Democrats, he would be failing in his job.

    I hope that you can see the difference between an opinion show’s spin and MSNBC running a “breaking news” banner asking how many new homes Palin brings to the ticket, or when the NY Times runs three front page stories all related to Palin’s daughter being pregnant or when the AP runs a hit piece denigrating Palin for putting her family on stage after they ran a story about how adorable the Obama children’s little skit was. My favorite was the Today Show asking “The broader question if Sarah Palin becomes vice president, will she be shortchanging her kids or will she be shortchanging the country?”. Well, it’s got to be one or the other, now doesn’t it. Odd thing though…..Barack has two kids, I don’t recall the same charge being leveled against him.

    Things got so cruel that Barack Obama himself stepped up to distance his campaign from it’s media surrogates. Obama could see the attacks….and yet you can’t. Try and view things with a bit of even handedness Scott, because you KNOW I can find piles of clips showing liberal talking heads doing the same thing you accuse Rove of.


  5. TFG,

    You are impervious to facts. You spew garbage claiming there’s tons of information out there, but you don’t actually provide anything of substance. It really would be interesting to know whether you are just a spreader of propaganda, a true brainwashed believer, or if you are both.

    Obama has few “media surrogates,” while your boy Johnny Maverick has people like the AP’s Ron Fournier, who interviewed for a position with his campaign, and dozens like him. People like you complained bitterly about the quantity of Obama’s media coverage, while failing to note that the great majority of it has been negative, and that Obama’s involvement in a long primary vs. Johnny’s involvement in a short one obviously was the biggest factor in the amount of coverage.

    On the other hand, if there had been little coverage, you’d be saying the media were hiding something.

    You are, as I say, impervious to facts, willing to imply all sorts of things about others and then cry foul when called on it. I love your technique of insulting others by claiming they are ideologues who don’t know what they are talking about, but never providing a shred of evidence to counter. I understand, you’ll say it’s because non-Republicans are too blind or stoopit to waste your time, but you sure waste your time copying dictionary definitions of fascism and telling people how ignorant they are.


  6. It’s odd… I seem to be on moderation… I must be provoking thought. 🙂


  7. TFG, I get that you hate the media and that you think they are out to get you. But that has nothing to do with my post, so I’m a little puzzled that you came in, guns blazing, to have it out about the the state of journalism in America today. I’d have plenty to say about that, but it’s quite another subject.

    My point–again–is that my fellow Democrats should not allow themselves to believe for even one second that any of the supposed offenses claimed by the Republican spokespeople they see on TV are genuine. They are not. They are completely disingenuous, calculated and feigned. They are totally designed to appeal to our sense of fairness (and the media’s) and cause us to back of a notch in our criticism. This we must not do.

    Rove wasn’t being genuine when he said TIm Kaine would be an “intensely political choice” for Obama, and he doesn’t mean it when he praises the experience of Sarah Palin. He’s lying on television for one reason only: to advance his candidates. Nobody should pretend it’s anything but what it is: Noise.


  8. Did you read my post before you disagreed with it, Scott? I hate to rehash, but I’ll try again. Karl Rove is a partisan. For you to point that out is like pointing out that Ronald McDonald is openly biased against the Burger King in favor of Mayor McCheese. Of course Karl Rove is biased. So is Keith Olbermann, and Bill O’Reilley, and Bill Maher….so what?

    Republicans are not complaining about the unfairness of partisan commentators. We are complaining about the bias of the journalist media.

    Again….We are complaining about MEDIA bias….not talk shows. I did try to explain that, but you were busy pointing out how my guns were blazing. Perhaps, through all that gun smoke, my point was missed.

    Scott Claims: Republicans are whining about attacks on Palin while Rove and O’Reilley take both sides of issues.

    TFG says: Republicans can tell when talking heads are being partisan, and we expect that ( I often get a laugh from them). We cry foul when people who label themselves as “journalists” whitewash opinion pieces and label them as “news”. Hence we got: “Breaking News! How many homes does Palin add to the ticket?”. And I do not hate the media….I just hold contempt for dishonest journalists.

    Can we at least be clear on what we are arguing about?

    Snabby…..the reason I don’t bother offering you evidence ( though I did give specific examples) is that I have learned that arguing with Obama Zombies who spout DU and DNC talking points is a waste of time. I do offer evidence to Scott when I can, as he seems a reasonable chap. Oh, and by the way Snab, “stoopit” is spelled “S-T-U-P-I-D”


  9. Of course Karl Rove is biased.

    He’s not “biased.” He’s a liar. And so are the other Republican talking heads one sees on television. I want my fellow Democrats–inherently fair-minded people–not to be sucked into thinking they have to kowtow or give any consideration to their phony outrage, or give any credence to their “views.” They are espousing views that they don’t even hold, giving voice to outrage that is entirely disingenuous. Ignore them. Full speed ahead.

    Republicans are not complaining about the unfairness of partisan commentators. We are complaining about the bias of the journalist media.

    And I’m complaining about the high price of arugula! What the hell do these things have to do with one another? I’m sorry, but you seem to think that my pointing out the fact that Rove is a liar has something to do with me being confused that he’s not a journalist. I’m not confused, but you certainly seem to be!

    Can we at least be clear on what we are arguing about?

    I hope so. I’m complaining about Republican talking head duplicity, while you’re complaining about something else entirely and berating me for conflating the two! Sheesh!


  10. I was just going by what you said in your original post. You inaccurately described the reasons for conservative “howls of outrage and indignation” and cries of “foul”. I was just trying explain the real reasons behind conservative anger. You seem to attribute it to our views about the words of liberal talking heads….and that is simply not true.

    Since the hypocrisy, lies and partisan bias from the chattering classes bothers, I’m sure you will take equal umbrage at the same behavior from liberals? Surely your anger at the lies of a Republican political strategist will equal your rage at the distortions of the former co-anchor of MSNBC, Keith Olbermann. Do we need to run the tape? Is what Rove says so much worse because of what party he supports? Yes, clearly the nobler intentions of the left-wing blowhards make up for their lies……do they?

    If your point is that political hypocrisy and lies are detrimental to true discourse, then I agree with you.

    If your point is that Republican liars and hypocrites are the sole purveyors of dishonest politi-speech, then I believe you are being dishonest with yourself and I was wrong about the reasonable chap thing.


  11. If your point is that political hypocrisy and lies are detrimental to true discourse…

    If your point is that Republican liars and hypocrites are the sole purveyors of dishonest politi-speech…

    My central point is really neither of these things. It is this:

    my fellow Democrats should not allow themselves to believe for even one second that any of the supposed offenses claimed by the Republican spokespeople they see on TV are genuine. They are not. They are completely disingenuous, calculated and feigned. They are totally designed to appeal to our sense of fairness (and the media’s) and cause us to back of a notch in our criticism. This we must not do.


  12. TFG,

    The real reason is, of course, that you don’t have facts to go with your ridiculous statements, but thanks for playing.

    BTW, my wife would find it hilarious that you think I’m an “Obama zombie,” given my general feeling that he was hardly the best candidate, and is only marginally progressive. I find it hilarious that you think I am able to spout my marching orders from DU, a place I never go to.

    And thanks for helping me with my spelling; I had no idea, which you can chalk up to public schools, which you no doubt which to be rid of.

    I continue to be interested in whether you are a paid liar, a true believer, or some combination thereof. And while it appears you think that not using “dirty” words makes you civil, believe me when I tell you that your whole schtick is an obscenity.

    See ya around, bub.



Leave a Reply

