h1

Try Pirelli’s micracle elixir

November 26, 2008

I was in Bath & Body Works a couple of weeks ago when I made a fortuitous discovery: They actually carry a decent shaving cream.

I examined a green tube of something called C.O. Bigelow Premium Shave Cream with Eucalyptus Oil and read the label. When I saw the name “Proraso” in fine print I realized that this stuff was actually a very popular traditional Italian shaving cream which had merely been re-branded to sell in B&BW. I think I’m the only shaving nerd on earth who hasn’t tried Proraso, so naturally I took some home to remedy that.

I wish I’d made this discovery back in June–Proraso’s eucalyptus oil formula must make for an incredibly cooling and refreshing hot-weather shave. It lathers like a house on fire and lubricates like a three martini lunch, but the real draw here is the bracing chill you feel when you rinse it off your face. Very nice. Even in November.

No comments yet

  1. If you want bracing in general, try Dr. Bronner’s Castille Peppermint Soap. You can use it for any number of things. They recommend it as shampoo, which dries the hair out, but leaves your scalp very, very chilly. Definitely best in the summer.


  2. I’ll keep an eye out for it! I definitely like the whole toothpaste-for-your-head feeling. I regularly use Paul Mitchell’s tea tree shampoo, which is pretty minty stuff.



Leave a Reply

