h1

Thirteen

December 8, 2008

It’s not technically a blogiversary, but holy smokes. I’ve been on the web for thirteen years.

My blog will only be seven (!) years old in January, but I’ve had a web presence long before that. Back in December of 1995 there was no such thing as a blog. I hand-coded a static web page (and yeah, I mean one page) using my Macintosh Performa 630 and a two-part article in Mac User about HTML.

Other than the fact that the background of the page was canary yellow, I have no recollection of what was on it. Probably some quick biographical information about myself, and a few of my likes/dislikes. (Hey, I know unordered lists!)

My site went through several phases in the following years. There was the X-Files fan period. There was the I-know-Photoshop period. Then, seven years ago, I started using blog software.

What’s your web history?

No comments yet

  1. My blog Verbatim is 4.5 years old — it’ll be ready for kindergarten next year! πŸ˜‰ I briefly had a pre-blog web page (made using Adobe Page Mill) called “Chez Karen.” I remember working very hard on the banner, but that’s about it….


  2. do bulletin boards count? i remember first using one in high school, late 80’s, with my buddy’s 300 bbs modem on my commodore 64. they had some lame text only games.


  3. Yeah, that’s old school. When I got on the internet (maybe a few months before I got my web page up), Gopher was still used, people still used Netscape 1.1N, and to do online chat you had to be in IRC via your telnet client. I think my first modem was 14.4. Everyone knew that people on the internet from AOL were idiots.

    All of which reminds me of what Weird Al once sang:

    You gotta be the dumbest newbie I’ve ever seen
    You’ve got white-out all over your screen
    You think your Commodore 64 is really neato
    What kinda chip you got in there, a Dorito?
    You’re usin’ a 286? Don’t make me laugh
    Your Windows boots up in what, a day and a half?
    You could back up your whole hard drive on a floppy diskette
    You’re the biggest joke on the Internet
    Your database is a disaster
    You’re waxin’ your modem, tryin’ to make it go faster
    Hey fella, I bet you’re still livin’ in your parents’ cellar
    Downloadin’ pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar
    And postin’ “Me too!” like some brain-dead AOL-er
    I should do the world a favor and cap you like Old Yeller
    You’re just about as useless as jpegs to Helen Keller


  4. Wow, you old fogies have it on me. I remember BBS but never had a computer to use it.

    Congratulations, scott!


  5. […] years having a web presence December 8, 2008 — thoughtfulconservative Congratulations, scott. Posted in Blogging, Blogs – Wisconsin. Tags: Blogging, Wisconsin […]


  6. Check ot the Internet archive for a glimpse of your site from 2002. Definitely from the I-know-Photoshop period πŸ™‚

    http://web.archive.org/web/*/www.scottfeldstein.net


  7. While my blog’s only a year old (roughly), I’ve had a presence on the web since my college days, which would date back to 1995.

    At any rate, congrats on your anniversary!


  8. Eric, I did go back and look at that stuff as I was composing the original post. There definitely was a crossover period between the Photoshop and the blog phase. Behind this photoshoppy index page was my Movable Type-powered blog.

    Unfortunately, I can find anything earlier than 2002.


  9. Congrats. I don’t know how far back I want to admit to. My blog’s been around since 2005, I’ve had another domain that was hand-coded for several years before that, and I actually go back to the BBS and Prodigy days (those of a certain age would know what TW2002, TNP and BBM stand for).


  10. […] Scott Feldstein has had a web presence for 13 years. Yes, he is one of the “old-timers” who had hard-coded his stuff, and he was around before there was such a thing as a “blog”. Little-known fact about Scott; he self-hosts rather than trusting a hosting company.   [link]  [TB] […]



Leave a Reply

